PDA

View Full Version : Making blog-header help.!



dzonson
10.08.2007, 11:51 AM
Hi,
A day before,.. I discover Irfan and I can just say:very grat program (!)for the pictures with just 1,1MB.there is so many possibilities I just started to study it.
I need a help with little instructions how to make header with Irfan for Blog of my friend that I am managing:
http://ljubodragsimonovic.wordpress.com/
This is the hearer for experiment:

800*150 pixels

http://img337.imageshack.us/img337/6075/ljubodrag3al5.gif

And in this empty header red background color...

800*150 pixels

http://img174.imageshack.us/img174/2841/ljubodragow9.gif

I should put this between the pictures,or somethinh like that....

http://img410.imageshack.us/img410/5271/45tg6.jpg

The header must look something like this,but much better...

http://img516.imageshack.us/img516/4136/headerfo9.gif

The suitable dimensions of header for the blog must be 690*115 pixels,and their must be border line arond header and around both pictures also..

If someone help me with instruction to make this suitable header I will be grateful...
thanks

Sjef
10.08.2007, 05:15 PM
Is this usable? (see attachment) :)

dzonson
10.08.2007, 07:52 PM
Hey @Sjef...
Thanks a lot friend...http://img73.imageshack.us/img73/9385/iconcryng3.gif !

Have you done it with Irfan...?

cheerio...http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/1629/iconwinknf5.gif

Take a look blog (http://ljubodragsimonovic.wordpress.com/)

Sjef
11.08.2007, 07:03 PM
OK, you choose the red one. I would have guessed... Allways willing to help a guy who tries to save the earth. No, I used Photoshop. Your Comic-image could be a lot smaller though. I used IrfanView to reduce it: Save as progressive JPG (80), than loaded again and Blurred (24). Than saved progressive again (80). It could be smaller, but this is a nice compromis (if you should use it of course). And thanks to set me on the path to SnapShots! I look into it and will maybe use it. :D

dzonson
11.08.2007, 08:02 PM
Sjef
The choice was made Simonović,not me,but I rather prefer the other heder.
Will you please do just one more thing...

Send me here a 2-3 headers with different background expressive colors (blue,yellow,green) and with different adequate letters colors..somethin like in atachment but better,becouse I did it with Irfan.
Simonović like expressive colors,and maybe he will choose a new header

For the SnapShots...you can use it of course...;)

Sjef
12.08.2007, 03:34 PM
There you are. Lots of succes with this Simonović!

dzonson
12.08.2007, 05:59 PM
I apreciate Sjef Your header-work for Simonović,and thanks a lot for trhat!
I hope that word of Simonović will make a point...

dzonson
12.08.2007, 10:42 PM
Sjef...
I hope I do not bother You...
Definitely Simonović choose the heder in this atachment,but he wish that the letters of his name "Ljubodrag Duci Simonović" to be in the same font as the title "Destroy Capitalism - Save the Planet !",..the same color,white,and the same size of letters,and that's it...
I will do it by myself,but Irfan can not tipe letter "ć" just "c":mad:..what to do...http://img469.imageshack.us/img469/8913/dontknowzd2.gif
But Yes... Irfan is great program!..http://img340.imageshack.us/img340/2893/thumbsup57a63bpi4.png

Sjef
13.08.2007, 10:02 AM
His ć is a problem indeed! I like problems but so far I didn't solve this. I had to search on the internet and asked at the Dutch Language Union if there's a special key combination for this (this week I'll get the answer). I ones read a tip about a key combination ‘hard accent’ that can be put on all vowels. You seems you worked this out in our forum; how did you produce this ć into your reply? The font of the forum is Verdana and there's no ć in it. The font of the newest headers is Cooper. I placed the accent (a small rectangle) seperately above the c and the ć in this reply is a copy of your's.

dzonson
13.08.2007, 07:17 PM
Thanks Sjef
Simonović finally has choosed this header you made for him (http://ljubodragsimonovic.wordpress.com/) and in first atachment is a little gift for you,that is ilustration from Simonović's newest book:"A NEW WORLD IS POSSIBLE".

You seems you worked this out in our forum; how did you produce this ć into your reply? The font of the forum is Verdana and there's no ć in it. The font of the newest headers is Cooper. I
In second atachment is my ilustration-explanation for you for our free legal program called "Srpskey" (http://users.onvol.net/srpskey/) and now you will know how I typed letter "Ć".I just installed this 35KB. program in my computer,and when I typewrite:

"c+x"...I get "č"
"z+x".........."ž"
"s+x".........."š"
"c+q".."our".."ć"...:)
"d+q"..........."đ"

Of course You dont need to install this program because You do not use our alphabet,but if you want to try,follow instructions in second atachment where to click to download this program. You should know this...

In some cases when people try to install this program his AV programs report that there is some virus,but it is not....! This program is free and legal , without any viruses,spyware..etc...but probably that is some kind "Windows-reaction"
But that is in some cases,..usually there is no any problem during instalation..

However..that program did not help me when I tried to typewrite "č" it always display "c" and also when I use Windows font for our alphabet "č.ć.š,ž..." Irfan displays "c..s...z"...
Anyway..You can use this program for some experiment,and challenge to solve problems...;)

Good luck in solving problems and development! http://img73.imageshack.us/img73/9385/iconcryng3.gif

Sjef
14.08.2007, 11:22 AM
Dear dzonson. Thanks for the graphic ‘a new world’. I collect all sorts of images and this one is a welcome addition. I'm also very pleased with your tip about the little srpskey-tool. I've installed it and it does the job tiptop in many Windows programs and applications too. For instance Photoshop and in Xara X! It's only 2 kb in memory and via Taskmanager (Ctrl+Delete) you can shut it off. I like these little extraordinary tools a lot, maybe never use them, but when needed they can save a lot of time. It's a pity indeed IrfanView (and a lot of other programs) doesn't support this feature. In the end I refreshed my memory about the special keys in general and that was great too. Should you ever get a version of Photoshop in future, here's the file to edit (including ‘our’ real ć :)). Lots of succes, dzonson!

Bhikkhu Pesala
14.08.2007, 11:58 AM
If you need to type accented characters it is best to load the right Windows keyboard. If you have special needs, you can use Windows keyboard layout creator to create your own custom keyboards, as I do for Pali Keyboards (http://www.aimwell.org/Fonts/Keyboards/keyboards.html)

I don't much like the idea of using cx to type ć. It is better to use an accent instead of the "c" as the dead key, or some other key which is not much used in normal typing. I use Shift ` as the dead key for acute, so with my keyboard I can type ś with ´ followed by s.

I use the forward slash rather than the hyphen to type macron accent vowels ā ē ī ō ū for this reason, as the hyphen key is used very frequently in normal typing.

Unfortunately, IV only seems to support the ANSI character set for Text input. You can work around it by typing the accent separately, then moving it to the right place with copy/paste.

Sjef
14.08.2007, 03:00 PM
Thanks a lot for this nice tip! I do know about the very lot of keyboard-layouts of Windows, but didn't know which keyboard to choose to produce the ć. So I've not searched there. To produce ANSII characters I allways use the Alt+figure combination (not all by heart of course). Your link to the Pali-Keyboards is very interesting and I go and look into it. I couldn't find how to produce a [ đ ] although I won't need this character never in my life. Now Bhikkhu Pesala is beginning to live for me, because of your photograph and the link to your Books. Rather impressive to say the least! :eek: Thanks again for your reply.

dzonson
15.08.2007, 08:55 PM
I had a problem with blog and did not replayed yesterday..

I am glad Sjef that you are satisfied with Srpskey-tool and with the graphic ‘a new world’.The "Srpskey" tool can be very useful,and for me is esier to use this tool then the right Windows keyboard.
I have both installed,but I am using "Srpskey" all the time,but in some cases when this little tool can not help,I am using appropriate Windows keyboard.
Thanks for the good wishes,and I also wish you a lots of succes in you work..!
It have been pleasure to me to hob-nob with You and other people here..!
Thanks..!

dzonson
11.01.2008, 02:47 PM
Hi Sjef,my header savior....! ;)

I am making a new,better blog on Blogger for my friend,because in Blogger I can use some JavaScripts and "WordPress" do not alow Java Script.For now,I am experimenting with colors,look this:

http://ljubodragsimonovicduci.blogspot.com/

The red body background red color is:"#FF0000" and if you decide to make this new header make it be header red color the same "#FF0000".

The dimension of new header should be 710*118 (http://ljubodragsimonovicduci.blogspot.com/) pixels.
The problem of header red color in the new blog is thet I just extended header dimension from existing blog , from 690*115 (http://ljubodragsimonovic.wordpress.com/) to 710*118" and the red color in new blog become somehow "dumb".

Yoa can use for work this previous original header 800*150 pixels :

http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/1583/ljubodragow9li0.gif

The title is the same:

“Ljubodrag Duci Simonović
Destroy Capitalism – Save the Planet !”

Thanks,all the best for You and all IrfanView members, cheerio..! http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/8508/iconthumrightkw7.gif http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/1629/iconwinknf5.gif

dzonson
11.01.2008, 03:01 PM
The motive of making new blog is that I can use JavaScript like in this experiment test blog,to hide Scribd flash player with a text as is on this example.Click on button "show" (http://e-stvarno.blogspot.com/)to see , and also that I can embed mp3 player on Blogger,and I can manage with css colors,all that is free,and because, because I am less of money to pay for batter services...:)

Sjef
11.01.2008, 07:38 PM
Hello dzonson,
I didn't have much time, so here's a quicky. I wanted to make a png-file as well, but it wasn't usable on a webpage. Must see to that. In the mean time a jpg. Hope it's like what you ment.
Greetings.

dzonson
11.01.2008, 10:04 PM
Thaks Sjef!
I will put your header on the blog.
Greetings.

dzonson
11.01.2008, 10:36 PM
I do not know Why,I do not know how...but even this your header is the same dimension like previous 710*118 pixels,the new one is not good by centering left-iright sides of header,and I will back the old one.

Sorry Sef...it seems that I made some mistake.
I will check what is about..

dzonson
11.01.2008, 10:44 PM
O my God,know is the sam centering problem with the old one header..!?

Sjef
12.01.2008, 09:14 AM
Hi dzonson,
I can't help you with this centering problem. I don't know much about the html-language and I use MS-Frontpage to edit my own homepage. I keep trying to make a png-file with a transparence background that you can use in your blog :p

dzonson
12.01.2008, 01:10 PM
Thanks Sjef!
I will try to solve problem with header on Blogger.
Even if I reduce header for 30 pixels (high-width) it appears like shape in dimension 710*118 pixels , and the centering problem is the same...!?

Sjef
12.01.2008, 05:41 PM
Hi dzonson,
The gray area of this png-file should be transparent in a web page. When I paste this image in MS-Publisher, or view it in IrfanView or other viewers, it's transparent all right. But when I paste it in MS-Frontpage there's no tranparency at all. :mad: I don't understand, but I send it to you anyway. Maybe you can use it. The purpose of this png file is that you can use every background color.
Greetings.

Sam_Zen
13.01.2008, 05:30 AM
This is a problem with fancy HTML-editors like Frontpage. They are quite buggy and non-consistent if an existing element
is changed. While HTML just behaves on a simple ASCII level.

Sjef's PNG file has transparency allright. The line in HTML for this one should be, included centering :

<CENTER><IMG SRC="path/newheader.png" WIDTH="710" HEIGHT="118" BORDER="0"></CENTER>

Sjef
13.01.2008, 08:49 AM
Thanks for your reply, Sam :)
The code in Frontpage is the same as the code you sent me, so I kept searching for the right solution. After pasting the code into Notepad and saving it as HTML, the gray background remained... It turned out to be my own fault of still using MS-IE 6 as default browser, caused by a crooked loyalty to my standard XP-SP2. Viewing the page in Firefox IE or MS-IE 7 opend my eyes! :o
I never upgrade XP-SP2, so I should not bank on a state of the art MS-browser while still using my ‘old’ version. Strange though, that Frontpage 2003 also can't preview this transparency.

dzonson
13.01.2008, 11:41 AM
Hi dzonson,
The gray area of this png-file should be transparent in a web page. When I paste this image in MS-Publisher, or view it in IrfanView or other viewers, it's transparent all right. But when I paste it in MS-Frontpage there's no tranparency at all. :mad: I don't understand, but I send it to you anyway. Maybe you can use it. The purpose of this png file is that you can use every background color.
Greetings.

Dear Sjef,
In this header it is not visibly title "Ljubodrag Duci Simonović".
I will try to solve "Header problem" by changing the Template.

Sam_Zen
14.01.2008, 04:27 AM
I like to avoid confusion here. If a Template is involved, the CSS model is running.
An aspect which is not included in plain HTML coding.
Both ways have a common 'header' alinea in the description.
A background with a certain color has to be declared differently in both concepts, I suppose.

dzonson
14.01.2008, 07:09 PM
I do not know much about HTML and CSS I am just study it by myself reading some articles,books.I am a little tired of this problem.But anyway,I found out a good Template for the header,look this (http://ljubodragsimonovicduci.blogspot.com/) and I will just customize the colors and continue tu build a new blog for my friend.
But,I have something to do by myself,I should learn to make headers...
Isn't it Sjef?:)
Do somebody know some program ( not photoshop) for making headers?
I know,Irfan can also do it,but I want some special program just for making headers if it is possible...?

Sjef
14.01.2008, 07:32 PM
I don't know a FREE header making program. Maybe you could try Artweaver (http://www.artweaver.de/index.php?en_version). Freeware in the German and English language. But... it looks a bit like Photoshop.

dzonson
16.01.2008, 11:44 AM
Thanks Sjef for this program.I downloaded it ,and will start learnig to make headers.

dzonson
13.07.2008, 11:39 AM
Now i have another problem with making header with IrfanView.
I am preparing a new blog for my friend,but the header should be bigger then before..The dimension of new header are: 900*160 pixels.
First I was made an empty image 900*160 pixels with red color:

http://dzonson.files.wordpress.com/2008/07/h3.jpg

It is no problem,I made new header like below:

http://dzonson.files.wordpress.com/2008/07/h6.jpg

but as you can see...after I edited header title, the background red color is not clean around the letters.Can I improve background red color to be clean with Irfan or I should use other program?

When I was making banners with Irfan with smaller dimensions,I did nor have problem wirh background colors after editing banners title...

Sjef
13.07.2008, 06:15 PM
Dear dzonson,
It looks like you compressed the image to strongly. Check the opion ‘Show options dialog’ in the Save Picture As... dialog. When I save your banner (I took a photo from the screen) at a compression of 83, the (jpg)-image is about 28 kB. Should not be to heavy for your web page. If it does, handle the slider to reduce the data without mutilating the image. The level 83 is the same compression as when saved from Photoshop with level 8 on a scale of 12. Maybe I've taken the wrong conclusion from your example, if so, please let me know. Perhaps we can look for another solution.

dzonson
13.07.2008, 10:41 PM
Thanks Sjef for the answer,I will try according your suggestions and let you know what I did.

dzonson
14.07.2008, 12:12 PM
Sjef..

You were right.I put the changes in ‘Show options dialog" as you have shown in atachment.I put the compression level of 83 and the background red color is clean.look this...

http://wp.smirkingwhale.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/07/gotov-heder-1.gif

I think now it is good,what do you think?
But the firs part of header with title "Ljubodrag Simonović Duci" I made with Microsoft Panit (image in tif),because the Irfan can not write letter "ć" and I will never understand why the Author of Irfan View, Mr. irfan Skiljan,did not yet implement into the program to be possible, to write letters "č,ć,đ" especially as we know that he was born in Bosnia&Hercegovina and in his origin language the people use that letters...

Thanks Sjef again!

Sjef
15.07.2008, 05:22 PM
Understand your opinion about being born in Bosnia versus implementation of [ đ ] and other characters in the text options. But perhaps it's a Windows issue. Maybe you'd need to choose your country in Configurations. Or make your suggestion clear to Irfan himself: irfanview@gmx.net

dzonson
15.07.2008, 05:57 PM
I think I will make suggestion to Irfan himself: irfanview@gmx.net because when I use Microsoft "Paint" program to make banners I can implement that characters like "đ" and others because i already have installed in Windows font of letters&characters that we use here,and it works with some programs,but with Irfan not yet...

dzonson
16.07.2008, 01:31 PM
Sjef,I am lucky,:)

Today, the author of IrfanView, Mr.Irfan Skiljan, answered me
on my email I sent him,and informed me that in next version of IrfanView he will implement some new Unicode plugin that will alow people to write characters:"č","ć","đ"...etc..

He told me also that the next version of IrfanView will come in a few days...