Change or Insert Exif Date Taken workflow

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Change or Insert Exif Date Taken workflow

I'm a IrfanView beginner so bear with me if this question seems too basic.

I'm uploading over 2500 pics in about 200 folders to Google Photo. They need to be ordered by Exif Date Taken tag as GP has very limited sorting options. They are scans in jpg format that lack the Date taken tag so I need to insert that myself somehow.

I've been playing around with the Menu option JPG - Change EXIF date/time (date taken) but I can't make it work as intended. Inserting date taken on one pic works but the batch option that is noted in the dialog box: Note: Batch mode is possible from Thumbnails window if you select several JPG files does not.

Can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Can someone more experienced suggest a correct workflow?

Try ExifTool
    IV 4.56 32-bit

Comment

Originally posted by RottenImp View Post
      Try ExifTool
      I downloaded it earlier and it's much too complicated for me.

Does your suggestion of using another application imply that the Exif plug-in doesn't work in IrfanView?
      Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala; 23.09.2017, 04:23 AM.

Comment

See the screen shot.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Change Exif Date.png
Views:	1
Size:	42.5 KB
ID:	81745
        Before you post ... Edit your profile • IrfanView 4.62 • Windows 10 Home 19045.2486

Irfan PaintIrfan View HelpIrfanPaint HelpRiot.dllMore SkinsFastStone CaptureUploads

Comment

Originally posted by Bhikkhu Pesala View Post
          See the screen shot.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]4926[/ATTACH]
          Yes thank you, but that is the menu option I'm asking about as you can see in my original question: