Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Disabling 'Use Resample for zooming' has no effect on small images when browsing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Disabling 'Use Resample for zooming' has no effect on small images when browsing

Hi IrfanView developer(s) and contributor(s)
    I've been using IrfanView for several years now, I find it a very fast and convenient image viewer. I use it regularly at work under Windows 10 and at home under MacOS Monterey (Crossover).

There's a small consistency issue I find with this option on current v4.5.9 and previous versions:
    • View / Display options (window mode) / Use Resample for zooming
    Context:
    I'd like to display small images (smaller than Irfanview's window) stretched to fit the window with no resampling/softening/antialiasing of any kind so the pixels are clearly visible as such (square picture elements).

I think this should a straight-forward thing with these settings:
    Click image for larger version  Name:	Captura de pantalla 2022-01-07 a las 11.32.57 copy.png Views:	0 Size:	155.8 KB ID:	93583

What happens:
    1. 'Use Resample for zooming' disabled works properly when manually zooming-in the image using the magnifier buttons: it displays the zoomed-in image pixelated as expected.
    2. 'Use Resample for zooming' disabled does not work as I would expect when navigating from another image to it: it displays the image resampled (blurry, see the text, numbers and lines on the screenshot above).
    What was expected to happen:
    'Use Resample for zooming' disabled --> display the image pixelated in all cases where Irfanview has to zoom the image in for fitting to the window size, be it navigating through images or zooming-in the image in question.

Example:
    (lines and dots are crispy; text, although antialiased by the tool that generates the image, is seen crispy)