Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Edit A Slideshow

  1. #1
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    6
    Version
    IrfanView 4.40
    OS
    Win 7 Home Premium

    Default Edit A Slideshow

    Once a slideshow is created as an .exe file, is it possible to load the slideshow and edit it? How do you do this?

    thanks,

  2. #2
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,978
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    See the HotKeys for Slideshow.exe in Help:

    EXE Slideshow:

    E Extract all files from EXE slideshow

    T or N Show/hide image text

    F Change/loop the full screen display/fit option

    F1 Show help infos

    F11 Show/hide mouse

  3. #3
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    6
    Version
    IrfanView 4.40
    OS
    Win 7 Home Premium

    Default

    Thanks for the info, but here's my issue: I have several slideshows in one folder. Irfanview always takes me to the first slide show, I think because it starts with the letter "A" and it won't let me access the other slideshows in the folder.

    thanks,

    Quote Originally Posted by Bhikkhu Pesala View Post
    See the HotKeys for Slideshow.exe in Help:

    EXE Slideshow:

    E Extract all files from EXE slideshow

    T or N Show/hide image text

    F Change/loop the full screen display/fit option

    F1 Show help infos

    F11 Show/hide mouse

  4. #4
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,978
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    You cannot open an executable file in IrfanView. If you want to edit a slideshow, run it from Windows Explorer, extract the images, then open those files in IrfanView's slideshow creation dialogue to edit it (add/remove pictures, etc.)

  5. #5
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    6
    Version
    IrfanView 4.40
    OS
    Win 7 Home Premium

    Default

    Thanks for your reply. My problem is that when I use File < Slideshow, Irfanview opens the wrong slideshow. I have about 7 slideshows in one folder, and wonder if that's the problem. At first i thought IV was opening whatever slideshow began with the letter "A", but now I see that's not the case. So my problem is not how to edit a slideshow, i know how to do that, but rather how to get IV to open the slideshow I want to edit.

    thanks,


    Quote Originally Posted by Bhikkhu Pesala View Post
    You cannot open an executable file in IrfanView. If you want to edit a slideshow, run it from Windows Explorer, extract the images, then open those files in IrfanView's slideshow creation dialogue to edit it (add/remove pictures, etc.)

  6. #6
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,978
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    IrfanView does not open or edit slideshow files. They are executable files.

    1. You can add image files to the Slideshow dialogue.
    2. You can import a text file containing a list of filenames to the Slideshow dialogue
    3. You can create new slideshows to *.exe or *.scr (screen-saver) formats
    4. You cannot open or edit slideshow *.exe files. If you try, all you will see is a 32 pixel icon.

  7. #7
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    6
    Version
    IrfanView 4.40
    OS
    Win 7 Home Premium

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bhikkhu Pesala View Post
    IrfanView does not open or edit slideshow files. They are executable files.
    1. You can add image files to the Slideshow dialogue.
    2. You can import a text file containing a list of filenames to the Slideshow dialogue

    This is very helpful! How can i do steps 1 and 2 above? Are there instructions how to do these two steps?

    thanks,
    Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala; 15.06.2016 at 05:09 PM.

  8. #8
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    6
    Version
    IrfanView 4.40
    OS
    Win 7 Home Premium

    Default

    Hey, I got it figured, thanks.
    Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala; 15.06.2016 at 05:10 PM.

  9. #9
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    6
    Version
    IrfanView 4.40
    OS
    Win 7 Home Premium

    Default

    Sorry, still having problems. You said:
    Quote Originally Posted by Bhikkhu Pesala View Post
    If you want to edit a slideshow, run it from Windows Explorer, extract the images, then open those files in IrfanView's slideshow creation dialogue to edit it (add/remove pictures, etc.)
    I can run a slideshow form Windows explorer, but how do I extract the images? For instance, if I run a slideshow tk01.exe the images are displayed. But when I press "W" it brings up a different slideshow with different images.

    thanks,

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •