Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Request: Save option for 'Change canvas size'

  1. #1
    IV Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    30
    Version
    IrfanView 4.50
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default Request: Save option for 'Change canvas size'

    I sometimes wish to remove borders from a few pictures or do other manipulations with 'Change canvas size' but if I wish to remember the settings, which I first experimentally determined, I have to write down the 4 values of the corners. That is a bit annoying and not something befitting computer software I think.
    So for that reason it would be handy if you could store a few states for that dialog.

  2. #2
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,745
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    I find that canvas settings are already saved from one file to the next, or even after restarting IrfanView.

  3. #3
    IV Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    30
    Version
    IrfanView 4.50
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default Response

    Quote Originally Posted by Bhikkhu Pesala View Post
    I find that canvas settings are already saved from one file to the next, or even after restarting IrfanView.
    Yes but that is only the last settings, so if you have two or more different ones you have to write it down, or I guess you could do something silly and elaborate like writing a script of some sort to remember the settings and inserting them into the .ini and restarting irfanview, but that's a bit extreme.

    And talking of those settings, it's also a bit confusing perhaps that the batch mode uses a different format for those crops than the 'live' one, but that's another subject.

  4. #4
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,745
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dabble View Post
    And talking of those settings, it's also a bit confusing perhaps that the batch mode uses a different format for those crops than the 'live' one, but that's another subject.
    It's not a crop, it is a change to the canvas size. The Advance Batch dialogue, Canvas Size dialogue seems to be identical.

    You could save the batch settings as a file for different sized borders.

  5. #5
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,745
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Irfan Skiljan sent me these updated Effects.dll plugins to implement this feature, and to remove any duplicates from the saved Canvas settings.

    Let us know if it works for you. It looks OK to me with a quick test.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    IV Beginner
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    30
    Version
    IrfanView 4.50
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional
    CPU Cores
    4

    Thumbs up Thanks you, and sorry for the delayed respponse.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bhikkhu Pesala View Post
    Irfan Skiljan sent me these updated Effects.dll plugins to implement this feature, and to remove any duplicates from the saved Canvas settings.

    Let us know if it works for you. It looks OK to me with a quick test.
    I completely did not expect to get an immediate custom effect alteration before a new release of Iview, so I neglected to check for a long time.
    So many thanks for the effort to both you and Irfan.
    And sorry for the tardy response.

    But anyway, yes it seems to works fine (tested in my 32bit version 4.51), and although you can't name the presets, this system with having the values as name might have advantages since you would at some point forget what your preset names were if you made enough of them I guess. Plus it's quicker than naming.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •