Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: fpx Kodak FlashPix not working

  1. #1
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Home Premium SP1

    Default fpx Kodak FlashPix not working

    I can't get my old fpx photos to open today. I get a black screen that seems to resize as I go through the file folder. I recently updated to the latest 32 bit version with the 32 bit plugins. Anyone else having this problem or have any comments?

  2. #2
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,556
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Check installed plugins from the help menu to see if the plugin is installed.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FkahPix plugin.png 
Views:	11 
Size:	17.5 KB 
ID:	5217

    Zip a few FlashPix and attach them to your post for us to test.
    Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala; 10.04.2018 at 09:31 PM.

  3. #3
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Home Premium SP1

    Default

    Try these, I don't know what they are since I can no longer see them.
    P0001410.zipP0001411.zip

  4. #4
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Home Premium SP1

    Default

    And I do have FPX.DDL ver 4.48 in my plugIns

  5. #5
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,556
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    ​They are just black here too.

  6. #6
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Home Premium SP1

    Default

    They open normally on my laptop at home that has not been updated and has version 4.33 on it. And to be clear, I mean the zip files above. It is a picture taken 4/11/1998. I wonder if that means it is a bug in the update?

  7. #7
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Home Premium SP1

    Default

    It has FPX.DDL 4.32 on it.

  8. #8
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,556
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    I got a reply:


    Quote Originally Posted by Irfan Skiljan
    No bug => FPX should die.


    Yes, because of so many bugs in FPX library (overflows and security issues), some fixes will reject buggy FPX files.


    Nobody should use FPX anymore, the format is dead.


    => the user should convert the files to something normal and never use FPX again ;-)

    So, open the files in 4.44 and save them in a more useful format. If you need old version installers, check my IrfanView Help Page You can simply install it and the plugins in a different folder.

    I opened those two files and saved them as JPG using version 4.44

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P0001410.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	138.8 KB 
ID:	5220Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P0001411.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	141.8 KB 
ID:	5221
    Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala; 11.04.2018 at 08:01 AM.

  9. #9
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Home Premium SP1

    Default

    Thanks for the quick response. I will say that I have used IrfanView for a long time and my old fpx files have always worked fine in the past. These are pictures I took with my first digital camera back in the 90s. They are straight out of the camera without any post processing for the most part.

  10. #10
    Multiple User Jacal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    287
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Home Premium SP1
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default

    The last version of Xnview, that also claims to support the format, crashes on your samples instantly. As said, it might be time to convert your old photos to tiff or similar. And also keep an old enough version of IrfanView with them.

    (I have a similar situation with some ancient crw photos, that no modern raw converter can open any more.)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •