Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Orginal image size problem

  1. #1
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    4

    Question Orginal image size problem

    Hi.

    When I open RW2 (raw) images taken with my Panasonic FZ2000 camera and hit the Info button, then it tells me that the image Original size is 1920 x 1280 pixels. But that's not the case since the image size should be 5472 x 3648 pixels.
    When I open my Canon CR2 (raw) images there is no problem. The Info button shows me the correct orginal size.
    Using Irfanview 4.52 64-bit version and latest plugins.

    Thankfull for any solution.
    Jan

  2. #2
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    4

    Default

    And when I convert the RW2 image in Adobe DNG converter to a DNG (raw) file and open that file in IrfanView, the IrfanView informs me that the original size is only 1024 x 683 pixels (when it should be 5472 x 3648px, which it is if I open the image in eg. Adobe Camera Raw)?
    The same happens if I convert a CR2 file to a DNG file in the Adobe DNG converter - IrfanView see it as a 1024 x 683px image.

    What is happening here? - why do IrfanView decrease the size of the image for RW2 and DNG files when it treatens CR2 files correctly?

  3. #3
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Somebody wants to try open a DNG file in IrfanView and notice if the images original size will change?

    Ps. I have been opening Nasas HUGE JP2 files with no change in pixel size. So why do the RW2 and DNG files change in size?

  4. #4
    Multiple User jazzman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    454
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    32-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    I assume you are viewing the preview images which are embedded in theRAW files.

    What are your settings in Options > Properties > Plugins ? (see screenshot)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	iv_raw_preview.png 
Views:	25 
Size:	34.1 KB 
ID:	5489  

  5. #5
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Progress, Thank You!
    Solved!
    I changed the Plugin options and untagged both "Try to load embedded preview image" and "Load half size image".
    Additionally, I tagged "Don't automatically brighten the image".
    Now I'm much closer to what I need to do and the next issue is that high ISO images are quite noisy, but that's another story I suppose...
    Thank You!

  6. #6
    Multiple User jazzman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    454
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    32-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    You are welcome, Jan.



    As for de-noising, best would be a dedicated RAW editor. If you insist on IrfanView you might want to search the web for Photoshop plugins (.8bf) which usually work in IrfanView too.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •