Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 8bf Support in 64-bit version???

  1. #1
    IV Newbie maspick's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Davenport, IA
    Posts
    7
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default 8bf Support in 64-bit version???

    I cannot find an entry here addressing this, so I apologize in advance for asking the question.

    How in the heck does one add an 8bf plugin to the 64-bit version of Irfanview. I can add 32-bit plugins to the 32-bit version of Irfanview, but I can't add 64-bit plugins there and I can't seem to add anything to the 64-bit version of Irfanview. Is there a secret handshake or gesture I'm failing to perform? It's very frustrating. For instance, I can't access the DxO version of the NIK Collection plugins anywhere. HELP!!!!
    May the Lord Bless Your Steps

    Tom ('Mas) Pickering
    info@photopicks.net
    Servant to the King <)><

  2. #2
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    6,117
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Advantages of IrfanView 32-bit over 64-bit version:

    • Runs on a 32-bit and 64-bit Windows
    • Loads all files/images for normal needs (max. RAM size is about 1.3 GB)
    • Needs less disc space
    • All PlugIns will work: not all PlugIns are ported (yet) to 64-bit (like OCR) and some 32-bit PlugIns must be still used in the 64-bit version, some with limitations (see the "Plugins32" folder)
    • Some old 32-bit PlugIns (like RIOT and Adobe 8BF PlugIn) work only in compatibility mode in IrfanView-64 (only 32-bit 8BF files/effects can be used)
    • Command line options for scanning (/scan etc.) work only in 32-bit (because no 64-bit TWAIN drivers)

  3. #3
    IV Newbie maspick's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Davenport, IA
    Posts
    7
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bhikkhu Pesala View Post
    Advantages of IrfanView 32-bit over 64-bit version:

    • Runs on a 32-bit and 64-bit Windows
    • Loads all files/images for normal needs (max. RAM size is about 1.3 GB)
    • Needs less disc space
    • All PlugIns will work: not all PlugIns are ported (yet) to 64-bit (like OCR) and some 32-bit PlugIns must be still used in the 64-bit version, some with limitations (see the "Plugins32" folder)
    • Some old 32-bit PlugIns (like RIOT and Adobe 8BF PlugIn) work only in compatibility mode in IrfanView-64 (only 32-bit 8BF files/effects can be used)
    • Command line options for scanning (/scan etc.) work only in 32-bit (because no 64-bit TWAIN drivers)
    So, you're saying their is no real 8bf support for the 64-bit version of Irfanview? If the 32-bit version of Irfanview won't run 64-bit plugins, will I ever be able to use those plugins with Irfanview? Irfanview is so complete in so many ways for many things that this is very disappointing. d:¬{(
    May the Lord Bless Your Steps

    Tom ('Mas) Pickering
    info@photopicks.net
    Servant to the King <)><

  4. #4
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    6,117
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Never say "never," but if you're into serious photo-editing why not use a photo-editor, not an image viewer?

  5. #5
    IV Newbie maspick's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Davenport, IA
    Posts
    7
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    I do use a photo editor. I am an advanced Photoshop user but there are plenty of occasions where I don't want to launch Photoshop to do something simple, which Irfanview is ideal for. Alas, we can't have everything we want - where would we put it all! d;¬{D
    May the Lord Bless Your Steps

    Tom ('Mas) Pickering
    info@photopicks.net
    Servant to the King <)><

  6. #6
    Multiple User Jacal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    330
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default

    I only have five "installed" and rarely use them, but these do work fine with 64-bit IrfanView:

    AdaptiveContrastCurve.8bf
    AdaptiveHistogramEQ.8bf
    FineUSMSharpen_x64.8bf ‎
    UltimateHueSaturation_x64.8bf ‎
    VHRUnsharpMask_x64.8bf ‎

    Edit: Harry's filters 4.10 also work. It looks that many filters have got 64-bit versions.
    Last edited by Jacal; 06.06.2019 at 11:47 AM.
    IrfanView 4.53 (64-bit as the default image viewer, 32-bit for comparison)
    PC: Windows 10, i5 CPU, 16 GB RAM, GPU 4 GB RAM
    Laptop: Windows 10, i3 CPU, 8 GB RAM, no dedicated GPU

  7. #7
    IV Newbie maspick's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Davenport, IA
    Posts
    7
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jacal View Post
    I only have five "installed" and rarely use them, but these do work fine with 64-bit IrfanView:

    AdaptiveContrastCurve.8bf
    AdaptiveHistogramEQ.8bf
    FineUSMSharpen_x64.8bf ‎
    UltimateHueSaturation_x64.8bf ‎
    VHRUnsharpMask_x64.8bf ‎

    Edit: Harry's filters 4.10 also work. It looks that many filters have got 64-bit versions.
    Awesome! This gives me hope. I wonder what's different about these plugins.
    May the Lord Bless Your Steps

    Tom ('Mas) Pickering
    info@photopicks.net
    Servant to the King <)><

  8. #8
    Multiple User Jacal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    330
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default

    (I'm not familiar with the subject, so don't take my words too seriously.)

    Some old 8bf plugins work in compatibility mode in IrfanView-64 via the 32-bit plugin loader (Stub_Plugin.exe). One can find 4 samples in the Plugins\Plugins32\Adobe 8BF subdirectory. (I use Smartcurve.8bf when I need a curve tool.) Some other might work, but many, probably most, will fail.

    On the net, you can find plugins, (re)written to work with 64-bit programs (some mentioned in my previous post). I would expect the number of 64-bit plugins to be growing, since 32-bit image editors are obsolete for many reasons.

    Having the last - i.e. quite old - Google's Nik Collection installed on my modest laptop (I'm away from home), I can only add it's 32-bit 8bf plugins to IrfanView-64. I found Viveza 2 to actually work, while two others have freezed IrfanView.

    Be well!

    Edit: I see that even the 64-bit filters, that work, trigger the 32-bit loader, so there still seem to be no native support for 64-bit 8bf filters in IrfanView.
    Last edited by Jacal; 07.06.2019 at 11:03 AM.
    IrfanView 4.53 (64-bit as the default image viewer, 32-bit for comparison)
    PC: Windows 10, i5 CPU, 16 GB RAM, GPU 4 GB RAM
    Laptop: Windows 10, i3 CPU, 8 GB RAM, no dedicated GPU

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •