Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Window freezes when displaying file in a large folder (via network)

  1. #1
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    3
    Version
    IrfanView 4.50
    OS
    64-bit Win 8.1
    CPU Cores
    4

    Thumbs up Window freezes when displaying file in a large folder (via network)

    I have a folder with about 2000 jpgs (95% smaller than 1 MB - album art for CDs) residing on a NAS which I access via 1Gbit/s local LAN (just 20 cm and one NW switch away from my PC).
    When I open a single file, it gets displayed immediately, but the status bar at the bottom says "no file opened". When I click into the IV window it gets foggy and I get the notorious message "application does not respond, do you want to wait or kill it".
    I hear a lot of rumbling on my NAS disk, so it seems that IV tries to read all the contens of the folder before it gets reponsive again.
    For a test: After I copied the full folder over to a local SSD, IV was reponsive imeediately after displaying the pic - as expected.

    My question is: Is it a bug or a feature that IV tries to read in the full contents of the folder before becoming responsive?

    For my purpose, I would not need the full folder contens being read, I only want to display a single file. Furthermore: After waiting long enough for IV to becoming responsive again, I get the very same delay if I try to view the "next" file (via the left/right arrow). So all the read operation on my NAS obviously did not result in a buffering of the contents for the purpose of a faster access when browsing the same folder.
    So what good would then be this reading of the remote folder after all?

    Thanks for any insights.
    Apart form that I am very happy with this very powerful and versatile application! :-)

  2. #2
    Multiple User jazzman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    469
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    32-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Try unchecking 'view other files in folder' under properties -> Browsing

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	iv_view-other.png 
Views:	11 
Size:	21.1 KB 
ID:	5682

  3. #3
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    3
    Version
    IrfanView 4.50
    OS
    64-bit Win 8.1
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default

    Great - this did the trick!!!
    Slight drawback is that the left/right (fwd/backw) buttons don't work any more, which is a bummer for smaller folders, but to be expected for larger ones.
    Would be really cool if there was a way to configure this - but I don't want to be overly ambitious :-)

    Thanks a lot, jazzman!

  4. #4
    Multiple User jazzman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    469
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    32-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Samse26 View Post
    Great - this did the trick!!!
    Good! You're right of course; in default settings IrfanView builds a list of the items in the folder before you can start browsing.
    I'm not a technician,but perhaps you should take a look at your LAN/switch setup anyway.

    Quote Originally Posted by Samse26 View Post
    Would be really cool if there was a way to configure this ...
    You can set up a second config of IrfanView with its own ini-file:

    -make a copy of your IrfanView desktop link
    - create an empty folder for the alternate ini-file, e.g. C:\myIrfan - you can leave it empty (IV will automatically create an ini-file in good time) or copy the ini-file from your main installation
    -edit the path in the properties of the new desktop link by adding /ini=C:\myIrfan to the path
    - open the new IV and edit settings/properties according to taste

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	iv_dup.png 
Views:	11 
Size:	25.0 KB 
ID:	5683

  5. #5
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    3
    Version
    IrfanView 4.50
    OS
    64-bit Win 8.1
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jazzman View Post
    You can set up a second config of IrfanView with its own ini-file:
    I was wondering if there was a way to do this - you actually fulfilled my boldest dreams
    Big Thanks again, jazzman!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •