Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 51

Thread: EXIF is not preserved

  1. #1
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4
    OS
    Win Vista Home Basic

    Default Canon RAW CR2 Exif Info

    I convert Canon RAW (CR2) files to JPG with an option to save exit info, but the jpg does not have any exif info. The info is blank. Any one seen this? I tried reinstalling plugins, but the problem exists.

  2. #2
    Multiple User ChuckE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    289
    Version
    IrfanView 4.37
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    8

    Default

    The RAW data that cameras save are probably just the actual picture image data, and not the info of things like the date, time, camera, manufacturer, what the camera setting are, if the flash was used, etc.; as what is in EXIF.

    My guess is that EXIF data is not in the RAW to begin with. I may be wrong, as this is just an educated guess, but RAW, to me, means RAW.

    Since there are no standards for RAW (at least not yet) perhaps your camera does not save EXIF with the RAW that it does save. Other cameras maybe.
    Last edited by ChuckE; 06.09.2007 at 01:49 PM.
    I wish to die peacefully in my sleep, like my grandfather.
    Not like those passengers, in his car, when he drove over that cliff.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    855
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    8

    Default

    Hi,

    @Chuck: there are some exif like informations in Canon RAW files. There is also a little preview jpeg in the RAW file... not only the raw pixels.

    @dimplekv: I'll check this later. Other RAW converters are able to write the exif data.

    Regards, Nils.

  4. #4
    Multiple User ChuckE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    289
    Version
    IrfanView 4.37
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by derniwi View Post
    there are some exif like informations in Canon RAW files.
    "exif like"? EXIF data, to be recognized by any converter, would have to be in a recognized format, with some recognizable header, so that the converter will "know" what data to utilize.

    Just because the "exif like" information of "OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA" is there, it is not going to be recognized as such unless that info is prefixed with "CameraID" and any of the other EXIF needed IDtags or headers.

    (I copied these data bits from one of my own photos, not trying to say that any or all photos must have "OLYMPUS" somewhere there. )

    As for the "little jpeg" preview in the Canon RAW, cool!
    I wish to die peacefully in my sleep, like my grandfather.
    Not like those passengers, in his car, when he drove over that cliff.

  5. #5
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4
    OS
    Win Vista Home Basic

    Default More Clarification

    Let me clarify more.

    If I open the raw (CR2) file in Irfanview, I see the exif data (like shutter speed, aperture, iso) in the 'full screen' view. If I save the file as JPG and try to see the same information in 'full screen' view, I see blank data.

  6. #6
    Multiple User ChuckE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    289
    Version
    IrfanView 4.37
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    8

    Default

    And like I said, just because that data is there, and it is data just like what you would expect to be EXIF, does not mean it is really in an EXIF format with EXIF recognizable headers.

    There is no standard for RAW. Canon saw fit to place this data in there, and that is great, but without standards, and if IrfanView does not know or follow the rules set down by Canon as to how they place their data, it just might as well be Swahili or Esperanto.

    Now, if the camera manufacturers come up with an EXIF standard, or if IrfanView followed the same rules as Canon when reading Canon RAW files, I would expect, only then, to pull the EXIF data out correctly.

    So, while you have a solid comment about what IrfanView does not do, I would say what you have is not a BugReport (this forum), but a Feature Request. A Feature Request entry would perhaps get Irfan to look into the added ability to understand whatever it is Canon does with their RAW files.

    Even, perhaps, a Canon RAW plug-in could be added.
    I wish to die peacefully in my sleep, like my grandfather.
    Not like those passengers, in his car, when he drove over that cliff.

  7. #7
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4
    OS
    Win Vista Home Basic

    Default More Clarification

    Sorry if I have posted in the wrong forum. Thought it was a bug.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Near Munich, Germany
    Posts
    895
    Version
    IrfanView 4.33
    OS
    64-bit Linux Distribution
    CPU Cores
    8

    Default

    Hi,

    i move that thread to the feature requests

    steve

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    855
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    8

    Default

    Hi,

    ok, the camera informations can be display by Irfan view from a Canon RAW file. And they will be shown in the EXIF dialog. So it should not be a problem for Irfan to save them into a JPEG file, doesn't it?

    Regards, Nils.

  10. #10
    Multiple User ChuckE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    289
    Version
    IrfanView 4.37
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    8

    Default

    Are you now saying that you can open a Canon RAW file with IrfanView, and see the EXIF data? Because, that is not what I understood you to say when you first started this thread.

    I just opened a RAW image right now, and I don't see any EXIF display button, but that could just be the RAW I have here.

    However, I am still saying that without standards for RAW format, the data you know to be in the file, as identical to what you would expect EXIF data to be, does not make it recognizable to IrfanView.

    When opening that RAW image, I even had to tell IrfanView what the size and the color data was laid out in. All of that should be readable from valid, recognizable (to the tool) EXIF data.
    I did not even see a selection, before opening the RAW image, that I wanted to use or read the EXIF data. Heck, I had to tell IrfanView how much header data to skip over before it got to the actual picture data. That header area would typically be where EXIF and IPTC info would be stored.

    If, however, you are actually able to display EXIF data with IrfanView (and I do NOT mean via the [Show HEX view] command, either - that is not the same) then sure, you have a valid bug. But I am guessing that is not the case. I think you are asking for a new feature. Perhaps a good feature too, but without RAW standards, who is determine the specs for such a feature?
    I wish to die peacefully in my sleep, like my grandfather.
    Not like those passengers, in his car, when he drove over that cliff.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •