Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Making IV default to current folder?

  1. #1
    IV Amateur
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default Making IV default to current folder?

    IV is great, but it has one quirk I've always found frustrating.

    When I open an image, edit it, then click File > Save (or Save As), IV opens the folder of the previous image I worked with. Since I rarely edit more than one image at a time, this usually means it's a folder I was using the last time I used IV, and completely unrelated to the one I'm now working with.

    IV is the only app I've ever used that does this. Maybe there's some esoteric reason it does this by default, but I can't imagine what it is.

    Anyway, is there a way to have IV default to the current folder? You know, the one containing the image I've just edited (as wacky as that may seem)?

    Thanks, A.

  2. #2
    IV Amateur
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default Oh, actually...

    Oh, actually, I've just realized IV has a File > "Save (original folder)" command that corresponds to Ctrl+S (the standard "Save" shortcut). So I guess this just happens when you use "Save As..."

    I got into the habit of using "Save As..." instead of "Save", because IV used to show the previously-worked-with folder with "Save", too. You must've fixed that.

    I'd like "Save As..." to default to the current folder too, though. Maybe you could make that an option...? It's a standard Windows programming practice, as far as I know. Thanks, A.

  3. #3
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    6,448
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    This is unlikely to change. It would break the workflow of every regular IrfanView user.

  4. #4
    Power User j7n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cyberspace
    Posts
    565
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    32-bit Win Server 2003 SP1
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    It is unusual, and can lead to mistakenly overwriting a file if the previous and current directories contain files with similar names.

    In case you haven't noticed, in the "Recent folders" dropdown there is an item beginning with five asterisks ***** that is the current directory. It is easy to see without actually reading the text.

  5. #5
    IV Amateur
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bhikkhu Pesala View Post
    This is unlikely to change. It would break the workflow of every regular IrfanView user.
    Indeed. That's why I was careful to phrase it:

    Quote Originally Posted by Ander
    ...Is there a way to have IV default to the current folder? You know, the one containing the image I've just edited...?
    "A way to have". I'm not suggesting changing IV's default behaviour, but adding an optional, per-user setting for it, like IV's many other options—whose purpose, I assume, is to let all IV users adapt IV to their "workflow".

    If this isn't an option (which is apparently the case), how about adding it? I can't be the only IV user who's good-naturedly put up with this, shall we say, eccentricity till now.

    Quote Originally Posted by j7n View Post
    It is unusual, and can lead to mistakenly overwriting a file if the previous and current directories contain files with similar names.
    Sorry, but do you mean IV's current behaviour is "unusual", or the optional, more conventional behaviour I've requested is? I don't see how it could be the latter, as that's "usual"—my whole point.

    Quote Originally Posted by j7n View Post
    In case you haven't noticed, in the "Recent folders" dropdown there is an item beginning with five asterisks ***** that is the current directory...
    Thanks, but I'd rather not fuss with "recent directory" commands just to save my current edit. If I disregard any "Do you want to overwrite the existing file?" messages, or have voluntarily turned off such messages, I've no one to blame but myself. That's a universal part of computing, not just of using IV. Thanks though!
    Last edited by Ander; 06.04.2020 at 10:57 PM.

  6. #6
    IV Amateur
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ander View Post
    Indeed. That's why I was careful to phrase it:



    "A way to have". I'm not suggesting changing IV's default behaviour, but adding an optional, per-user setting for it, like IV's many other options—whose purpose, I assume, is to let all IV users adapt IV to their "workflow".

    If this isn't an option (which is apparently the case), how about adding it? I can't be the only IV user who's good-naturedly put up with this, shall we say, eccentricity till now.
    Quote Originally Posted by j7n View Post
    It is unusual, and can lead to mistakenly overwriting a file if the previous and current directories contain files with similar names.

    In case you haven't noticed, in the "Recent folders" dropdown there is an item beginning with five asterisks ***** that is the current directory. It is easy to see without actually reading the text.
    Sorry, what's "unusual"? The way IV behaves now, or the optional, more conventional behaviour I've requested?

    And thanks, but I'd rather not need to fuss with "recent directory" commands. I'd prefer the option of having IV behave like every other Windows app. Thanks for the suggestion, though!

  7. #7
    Power User j7n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cyberspace
    Posts
    565
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    32-bit Win Server 2003 SP1
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    I see IrfanView's current behavior as unusual, and was agreeing with your observation. But it is unlikely we can persuade the author to make changes, and should rely on existing tools instead. XnView Classic also follows Irfan's convention by default, but there is an option under General -> File operations. That is a traditional Windows program with somewhat greater capabilities than IrfanView. FastStone Viewer has normal behavior as well.

    For me a problem with the current behavior arises when I compress cover art of music albums. IrfanView opens another difectory containg cover.jpg disc.jpg artwork/ etc.: the same set of filenames. And I might not notice that I'm saving over another album's artwork.

    If only Microsoft or Adobe were so concerned about workflow when they overhaul the GUI...

    Questions about the Save function have come up before and go back several years.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •