Problems using scanner interface

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Problems using scanner interface

I have been using IrfanView for many years without problems. I used an older version for a long time but recently decided to upgrade to the latest version 4.54 64bit under Windows 10. I often use it for scanning in pages from a TWAIN source and cleaning up the scanned pages before saving them. I've encountered a couple of problems that I've never seen before in the previous versions:

1 Once I enter the Acquire Batch scanning ... function a little icon called Irfanview Stub Loader appears on the taskbar. I've no idea what that's all about but thought nothing of it. However when I then exit Irfanview, while the main app icon disappears from taskbar as expected, the mysterious Irfanview Stub Loader icon stays and I can't find a way of getting rid of it. The problem then is, if I restart Irfanview and go back to Acquire Batch scanning ..., it refuses to allow me to use the scanner because it says Irfanview is still busy using the scanner from the previous session. It seems it's that Stub Loader stuck in the taskbar which won't go away upon exiting IrfanView. I have to log out and back in again to get rid of the nuisance Stub Loader. Is there an easier way that will automatically remove the Stub Loader when I exit IrfanView so that I can have a second scanning session?

2 After scanning in a page it often needs minor tweeks to get rid of marks on the page such as a line where the paper has been folded. In the past I've always cleaned such marks up by creating a second (empty) IrfanView white image from where I copy a small segment to paste over the bits in the scanned image I want cleaned up. However, although I've been doing this for years with the older versions, the pasting over of the white segment no longer works. Can someone advise me what's changed and how do I copy my cleaup clips onto the scanned page?