Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Plugin support for KDC (Kodak Camera)

  1. #11
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    6,639
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    I see the same preview image, but the plugin obviously fails to open the image properly. It looks like a lost cause. Try to find another application that can open the file if you really need to access these old images, and convert them to JPG or PNG.

    I tried XnView, but that does not seem to work.
    Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala; 01.11.2020 at 06:46 AM.

  2. #12
    IV Beginner
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    69
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default

    The FPX plugin is broken. I tried some other picture from the web and it was all black too.
    IrfanView 4.57 64bit, Windows 10 20H2

  3. #13
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Location
    Long Island, New York State, USA
    Posts
    8
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    4

    Smile Exhortation to DEVs. Please complete the FPX Kodak plugin to generate the full photo

    I will try to find my original Kodak Camera CD that hopefully will function in Win 10.

    The program is I believe from Win 3.1 days.

    There are I am sure a Bazillion photos made on those old Kodak Cameras

    using this FPX format so can Irfanview Devs please tweak the plugin?

    It is obviously quite functional enough to " decode " the FPX format in order to

    output a perfect thumbnail. Please, pretty please :-).

  4. #14
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    6,639
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    The developer does not visit this forum. You could try contacting him (email is a Help, About IrfanView), but don't get your hopes up. Let us know what he says.

    Kodak went out of business years ago, even digital cameras are not too common. The majority use smart phones nowadays.

  5. #15
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Location
    Long Island, New York State, USA
    Posts
    8
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default

    Hi, will attempt to email my request to dev. This Kodak cameras with the FPX file format were very popular back then so there are likely hundreds of thousands of pics that us oldies would like to view/restore/convert with the good graces of Irfanview. Thanks for your feedback.

  6. #16
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    2
    OS
    64-bit Win 10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by adayton View Post
    Hi, will attempt to email my request to dev. This Kodak cameras with the FPX file format were very popular back then so there are likely hundreds of thousands of pics that us oldies would like to view/restore/convert with the good graces of Irfanview. Thanks for your feedback.
    I guess I am an oldie too and have the same probem. I am using 32 bit version 4.53 and have both 32 and 64 bit versions installed. My installation tells me I have FPX.DLL version 4.48 installed.
    When I try and open an .fpx file the thumbnail flashes up all as hoped but then I get a black screen as described above.
    I cannot be sure but I might have had this working properly in windoze 7 but had to change to 10 when 7 went out of support.
    Forgive me jumping in but I really do need this to work.

  7. #17
    IV Beginner
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    69
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default

    I've tried the FPX file in 32 bit IrfanView in WinXP virtual machine. It displayed all black, so the OS is not a problem. I guess the plugin got broken at some point as an oversight.
    IrfanView 4.57 64bit, Windows 10 20H2

  8. #18
    Power User j7n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cyberspace
    Posts
    570
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    32-bit Win Server 2003 SP2
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    I can open this image in Paint Shop Pro and IrfanView 4.53, but the resolution is very low in both cases. I doubt this is a complete decode.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	KCP0257Apsp.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	473.1 KB 
ID:	6023  

  9. #19
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    2
    OS
    64-bit Win 10

    Default

    I have tried with windoze 7 but using the latest download and only get black screen. I can run bulk conversion but still nothing in jpeg. I do get a thumbnail occasionally.
    How can I get developer to help here please?
    Regards,
    Budgie

  10. #20
    IV Beginner
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    69
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default

    You may email the developer, the contact information is in "About" dialog in IrfanView.
    IrfanView 4.57 64bit, Windows 10 20H2

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •