Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 64

Thread: Radical Image Optimization Tool (RIOT) by Lucian Sabo

  1. #1
    Plugin Author
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    249

    Default

    Thank you 4eyes.

    Hi Laurent,
    Thank you for you great suggestions.
    Some of them are already integrated before I was able to read this.

    A new version is available at http://luci.criosweb.ro/riot . We are a step away from making Riot an IrfanView plugin. By testing riot.exe you can help creating a stable and useful IV plugin.

    v0.1.2
    -added jpeg chroma subsampling support (none,low 4:2:2,medium 4:2:0,high 4:1:1)
    -added Dual view option in View menu (disabled shows only the optimized version)
    -added edit fields for jpeg quality, gif and png number of colors, removed jpeg quality mask edit
    -modified labels (image size is in the bottom displayed in bytes with separators, expressed in kilobytes also)
    -improved error handling
    -improved settings changed handling on Save
    -code cleanup

    The problem from capture 2 persists in the current version?
    Good suggesion about the toolbar. I was thinking at the same thing. Future version will contain a toolbar.
    You will have a Ctrl+F shortcut for fit in window
    Good suggestion about the filename.

  2. #2
    Moderator Laurent's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium
    Posts
    881
    Version
    IrfanView 4.25
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Pro SP3
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default Radical Image Optimization Tool (RIOT) by Lucian Sabo

    Lucian Sabo has submitted his Radical Image Optimization Tool (RIOT), with the possibility that in the future it becomes a plug-in for IrfanView. It is now available only as a standalone program and as a dll, so this section Off-topic > Software in the IrfanView forum is the best place to continue the discussion for interested persons.

    Follow this link to go to the original thread. You'll find a description of the program and a link to the official website for RIOT.

    When a plug-in for IrfanView becomes available, a new thread will be created in the Program > Plugins and add-ons section.

    Laurent

  3. #3
    Moderator Sam_Zen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    1,887
    Version
    IrfanView 4.27
    OS
    Win XP Home SP1
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    This looks like the right way for development. I will report my experiences.

    I've updated riot.exe to v0.1.2. I assigned it in IV as external editor via Shift+E.
    So I opened a bitmap with IV and used the command.
    Although the right directory-environment was detected, the relevant bitmap wasn't immediately shown in the opened dialog.
    I had to select it a second time in the 'open frame.

    In this standalone app I noticed some elements which are of course valid for a standalone, like 'mirror', 'flip' etc.,
    but are not necessary needed if this app is used as a plugin for IV.
    Because then, those functions already are available, so the plugin could be trimmed to the specific optimization functions.
    0.6180339887
    Rest In Peace, Sam!

  4. #4
    Plugin Author
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    249

    Default

    the relevant bitmap wasn't immediately shown in the opened dialog.
    RIOT (0.1.2) currently does not support command line parameters. So it will not function as an external editor. Future version will contain support for command line parameters.

    Because then, those functions already are available, so the plugin could be trimmed to the specific optimization functions.
    Unfortunatelly for those that don't want enhanced functionality, all functions that I will consider relevant for the optimization task will become part of RIOT (part of them of the Lite plugin).

    Usually users want more functions, not strip ones that are present.

    Even if IV has flip, rotate, these are common and useful tools and it will remain there. Look this as an extension, not as a component that has the functions IV has not.
    In fact PNGOut saves PNGs independently and does a good job. You noticed that IV already saves PNGs... but pngout is not using any of IV components ?

  5. #5
    Moderator Sam_Zen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    1,887
    Version
    IrfanView 4.27
    OS
    Win XP Home SP1
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    You've got some points there.
    IVPaint also has an add-text fuction, while the basic IV has something like that already.
    0.6180339887
    Rest In Peace, Sam!

  6. #6
    Moderator Laurent's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium
    Posts
    881
    Version
    IrfanView 4.25
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Pro SP3
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Hi Lucian,

    As you see on the capture below, there is still an overlap problem with the file name. The error message appeared when I tried to open a PNG file crated with IrfanView. It opens normally in other programs. Not all PNGs raise an error, but I am unable to say which ones do.

    Laurent
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture6.png 
Views:	204 
Size:	47.6 KB 
ID:	621  

  7. #7
    Plugin Author
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    249

    Default

    It seems that you are using a large font DPI (120 DPI). This causes the fonts to enlarge. and that's why labels are overlapped. With 96 DPI settings the text fits.
    You can change the DPI from Control Panel. Your setting is unusual and may cause other text-fit problems with other applications designed for 96 DPI.
    By resizing/maximizing the window the labels will be set apart.

    It seems you are trying to open a 48 bit image. I did not tested this format. Though RIOT can open 48 bit PNG images I must test the handling of such format.
    Another PNG feature that is not handled yet is 16 bit grayscale. RIOT opens, but cannot save such files.

    later edit: I confirm that RIOT has a problem with handling 48 bit images.
    I will investigate this problem.
    Last edited by luciansabo; 07.05.2008 at 07:24 AM.

  8. #8
    Moderator Laurent's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium
    Posts
    881
    Version
    IrfanView 4.25
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Pro SP3
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Hi Lucian,

    For the 120 dpi font, you are right. I use it because at 96 dpi text is difficult to read on the screen (15,4" @ 1680 x 1050). I don't see the same problem with other programs, only with web pages (browser also configured to use a font bigger than the default one).

    For the PNG, it was created with IrfanView from a BMP. IrfanView says it is a 24 bpp, not a 48 bpp. See attachment.

    Laurent
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Lune-0002.png 
Views:	183 
Size:	366.0 KB 
ID:	622  

  9. #9
    Plugin Author
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    249

    Default

    No, in fact this is a 48 bit image.
    From Irfan View's properties:
    Original colors: 16,7 Millions (48 BitsPerPixel)
    Current colors: 16,7 Millions (24 BitsPerPixel)

    IV actually works with 24 bit DIBs. The 48 bit image is transparently converted to 24 bits per pixel.

    I don't see the same problem with other programs,
    You may see this king of problems in programs where labels are near, and they are positioned absolute or relatively to window size.
    To make it display properly with 120 DPI:
    1. I can make font size smaller (difficult to read for the vast majority of users - that use 96 dpi screen font)
    2. I can make the window bigger, but those with 800x600 will have problems
    3. I can reposition the labels, move them a line bellow "Initial image" and "Optimized image"

  10. #10
    Moderator Laurent's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium
    Posts
    881
    Version
    IrfanView 4.25
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Pro SP3
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Hi Lucian,

    You are absolutely right: it is a 48 bpp image. I didn't look at first at the image properties, only at the display in the status bar in IrfanView. I don't know what I may have done to get this.

    For the fontsize problem, I agree that points 1 and 2 aren't acceptable solutions.

    Laurent

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •