Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Screen Capture Using the Mouse

  1. #11
    Multiple User ChuckE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    289
    Version
    IrfanView 4.37
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mij View Post
    Oh dear. I see what happens. When we make another post the new count number is updated on all the previous ones as well. Has it always done that?
    The message counter is a board-system variable, it gets its count from your total known to the board. Whatever number shows on one posting, is identical to all the others. And YES, it has always done that.

    Other board-system variables are your avatar (the icon you may have set for yourself). Like mine is currently the face of "Chuckie" (the menacing animated puppet). But if I were to change it to Bozo the Clown, then ALL my postings, old and new, would show Bozo.

    Another board system variable is the "signature line" where mine is currently:
    "Warning: Drinking can cause memory loss, or memory loss."
    And again all my postings, old and new, will identically show the same signature. I change my signature about once a month, so whenever I do change it, it will identically change everywhere. What will not change is my phrase here (and above):
    "Warning: Drinking can cause memory loss, or memory loss."
    since that is set into the posting and not a variable. When I change my signature, those two references INSIDE this message will not change.
    (NOTE: I am sure there is a special "BB code" for inserting the signature, and perhaps other variables, INSIDE the posting. But, I have no interest to spend the time in finding out what that code may be. Please do not spend the time to tell me either. I have no interest.)

    All this is done by the board-system software that spews out the HTML code for the page as you go to that page. It will pull out those variable settings at the time. Whatever the settings are become part of that markup as that page is created for you.
    I wish to die peacefully in my sleep, like my grandfather.
    Not like those passengers, in his car, when he drove over that cliff.

  2. #12
    Professional User Mij's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Camberley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    2,764
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    32-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    3

    Default

    Thanks for explaining all that ChuckE. A useful lesson. Lesson 2 is to go to bed a bit earlier.
    So we still do not know how XOR can have posted and still have a count of 0. Perhaps it was because Bhikkhu deleted one of his posts.

  3. #13
    Professional User Skippybox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Detroit, MI USA
    Posts
    2,030
    Version
    IrfanView 4.25
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Home SP2
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mij View Post
    So we still do not know how XOR can have posted and still have a count of 0. Perhaps it was because Bhikkhu deleted one of his posts.
    Most likely.

  4. #14
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1
    Version
    IrfanView 4.20
    OS
    Win XP Pro SP3
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default Screen capture Free PrintKey

    I think this is what you want,


    http://www.webtree.ca/newlife/printkey_info.htm

  5. #15
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    6,492
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WHarropson View Post
    I think this is what you want
    I don't think so. Xor hasn't posted again since the initial post, and the initial request was for a new feature in IrfanView to make screen capture a bit easier to use, not another Screen Capture program.

    Screen Capture in IrfanView is very limited, and could be a lot better, e.g. with a toolbar button to initiate capture by selecting with the mouse, but I prefer to use a fully featured Screen Capture program like FastStone Capture, which is loaded at Windows startup, and so is available whichever program I am using, not only if I am using IrfanView.

    I therefore don't see any good reason for improving IrfanView in this area, unless perhaps it was made good enough to replace FastStone Capture as my system tray utility. Then it would need:

    1. Capture rectangle or freehand area
    2. Capture scrolling web pages
    3. Customisable shortcuts
    4. Screen magnifier tool
    5. Minimize to system tray on close, etc.

    The bottom line is that any development time is better spent improving other existing features of IrfanView, or making it more customisable.

  6. #16
    Moderator Sam_Zen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    1,896
    Version
    IrfanView 4.27
    OS
    Win XP Home SP1
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Yep, FastStone Capture is quite sufficient.
    0.6180339887
    Rest In Peace, Sam!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •