Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: When opening a GIF file some not usable functions are not disabled!

  1. #1
    Moderator Frank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    1,527
    Version
    IrfanView 4.38
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    2

    Angry When opening a GIF file some not usable functions are not disabled!

    If I open a GIF file it's completely normal that I cannot use some functions!
    (It's not possible to use the functions: Effects, Swap Colors and Palette with GIF files!)

    But nevertheless these functions are not disabled in their appearance!
    These not usable functions must be overpainted in grey color!!!



    see:

    (Click to view full size!)
    Last edited by Frank; 16.10.2010 at 02:42 PM. Reason: Correction of a defect link!

  2. #2
    Moderator Sam_Zen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    1,896
    Version
    IrfanView 4.27
    OS
    Win XP Home SP1
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Please, I understand your point, also without all the exclamation marks..
    I don't understand the confirmation here. This is an animated GIF, so different rules should apply.
    If taking a single GIF (256 colors) it's totally legitimate to have these functions enabled.
    0.6180339887
    Rest In Peace, Sam!

  3. #3
    Plugin Author MItaly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Milan, Italy
    Posts
    515
    Version
    IrfanView 4.27
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default

    These submenus don't have to be disabled, since their subitems are already correctly disabled.
    IrfanPaint developer
    The latest stable IrfanPaint version is the 0.4.13.70.
    IrfanPaint is now open-source (released under BSD license).

  4. #4
    Moderator Frank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    1,527
    Version
    IrfanView 4.38
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    If the subitems are already correctly disabled, why not the submenus also disabled?
    See other submenus and subitems!
    Why differences?

  5. #5
    Plugin Author MItaly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Milan, Italy
    Posts
    515
    Version
    IrfanView 4.27
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frank View Post
    If the subitems are already correctly disabled, why not the submenus also disabled?
    It's a widespread (and maybe standard) behavior; see the attached screenshots of Paint Shop Pro 7 and Microsoft Word 2003.

    See other submenus and subitems!
    Why differences?
    I can't find any other submenu with all items disabled to compare with these.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PSP_submenu.png 
Views:	206 
Size:	2.0 KB 
ID:	1120   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Word_submenu.png 
Views:	214 
Size:	4.5 KB 
ID:	1121  
    IrfanPaint developer
    The latest stable IrfanPaint version is the 0.4.13.70.
    IrfanPaint is now open-source (released under BSD license).

  6. #6
    Moderator Frank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    1,527
    Version
    IrfanView 4.38
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MItaly View Post
    It's a widespread (and maybe standard) behavior; see the attached screenshots of Paint Shop Pro 7 and Microsoft Word 2003.
    I can't find any other submenu with all items disabled to compare with these.
    O.K. - you are right!
    There is no other submenu or subitems, which have this effect!
    But nethertheless the questions are: Is it a bug or not? And if it's a bug - is it fixable?
    Or does everyone say it's only a bad effect (and let it be)!

  7. #7
    Plugin Author MItaly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Milan, Italy
    Posts
    515
    Version
    IrfanView 4.27
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default

    It's not a bug; as you can see from the attachments of my previous post, it's a normal behaviour of many windows applications.
    Last edited by MItaly; 15.12.2008 at 08:41 PM.
    IrfanPaint developer
    The latest stable IrfanPaint version is the 0.4.13.70.
    IrfanPaint is now open-source (released under BSD license).

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •