Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 83

Thread: RIOT Plugin for IrfanView

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    6,329
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default RIOT Plugin for IrfanView

    The old thead has been closed and unstuck. It was getting too long to follow.

    Please post any questions about the RIOT plugin in this thread. Off-topic comments may be removed.

    There is now an official RIOT Forum run by the RIOT plugin developer — luciansabo.

    Our members may also be able to help you with using the plugin.
    Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala; 04.04.2009 at 07:35 AM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Sam_Zen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    1,896
    Version
    IrfanView 4.27
    OS
    Win XP Home SP1
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Well, this is a good moment to make a fresh start.
    0.6180339887
    Rest In Peace, Sam!

  3. #3
    Plugin Author
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    249

    Default version 0.3.1

    Version 0.3.1 officially released.

    This version contains some fixes and optimizations as well as new features like automatic 4bit output for GIF and PNG with 16 or less unique colors, new Save button, keep metadata with IrfanView Set file size.
    The latter needs a new version of IrfanView (4.24 I think will be next). This will be released in a few months according to Irfan...

    Get it while is hot from here:
    http://luci.criosweb.ro/riot/download/

  4. #4
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    6,329
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    I installed the latest plugin, but it seems to be badly broken. I double checked that I had copied both freeimage.dll to the IrfanView folder, and riot.dll to the plugins folder.

    If I open RIOT plugin using the Save for the web menu option, I get Access Violation 1.

    If I click OK then RIOT opens. If I then click on "Options" I get Access Violation 2. Then the options dialogue opens OK.

    If I click on OK to close the options dialogue I get Access Violation 3.

    If I click on the zoom out icon I get a floating point error dialogue.

    When I close the RIOT plugin, I get another Access Violation error like the first.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Access Violation 1.png 
Views:	447 
Size:	11.6 KB 
ID:	1369   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Access Violation 2.png 
Views:	405 
Size:	9.9 KB 
ID:	1370   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Access Violation 3.png 
Views:	496 
Size:	10.2 KB 
ID:	1371  

  5. #5
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    6,329
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    This is the error I get on closing RIOT.

    And, although the image is small (I tested with this error dialogue box), RIOT says it is high resolution and offers to resize it for me.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Access Violation 4.png 
Views:	423 
Size:	11.6 KB 
ID:	1372  

  6. #6
    Plugin Author
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    249

    Default

    Make sure you are using version 0.3.2
    Version 0.3.1 for IrfanView had some access violation problems, like you experience.

    RIOT 0.3.1 for IrfanView was released but removed shortly afterwards.

  7. #7
    IV Beginner
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    51
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    3

    Default

    RIOT site has :
    << Special notice to IrfanView users
    IrfanView has bundled into the plugin collection the Lite version of the RIOT plugin.

    Here you can find the extended version (also FREE) that goes beyond Lite version offering extended functionality.

    I always recommend the extended version over the Lite one. >>

    Further development of light ver is stopped as it says.

    How to integrate it with Irfanview.

  8. #8
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7
    OS
    64-bit Win 7
    CPU Cores
    2

    Exclamation latest update for RIOT plugin is a trojan and the site is unsafe (McAfee)

    I am very worried. I had just set the RIOT plugin to "automatically check for updates" and the next time I launche dit it told me there was an update which was way ahead of the one installed. So I clicked the links, and McAfee flaged it as a trojan, and quarantined the file. Then it threw me off the web page with a huge warning.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Irfanview RIOT plugin update issue.jpg 
Views:	1229 
Size:	56.9 KB 
ID:	3818
    Whoa!
    Are you sure you want to go there?

    http://download.criosweb.ro/Riot-plugin.exe may be risky to visit.

    Why were you redirected to this page?

    When we visited this site, we found it exhibited one or more risky behaviors.
    I thought I ought to flag this issue on this forum, seeing as the version distributed with Irfanview has passed several antivirus and anti malware programs.
    Last edited by Fellwalker; 18.06.2014 at 10:17 PM.

  9. #9
    IV Beginner
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    59
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Ultimate/Enterprise SP1
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default

    Just another paranoid shriek of an overzealous AV (that will likely fail to stop actual malware). OpenCandy (monetization platform used in many installers) is what's triggering it.
    Anyway, you don't even have to run that installer, just open it with e.g. 7-zip or PeaZip, then extract $[72]\FreeImage.dll to IV folder and $[71]\Riot.dll to \Plugins.

    Virustotal scans: installer, FreeImage.dll, Riot.dll.

    [Edit]
    Don't get me wrong, I despise software bundling, I just don't think it's warranted to treat OpenCandy as malware (most AVs don't); it's used by lots of perfectly legit and very popular software.
    Last edited by Gownaar; 19.06.2014 at 02:24 AM.

  10. #10
    IV Beginner
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    35
    Version
    IrfanView 4.38
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Pro SP3
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fellwalker View Post
    McAfee flaged it as a trojan, and quarantined the file.
    ...
    I thought I ought to flag this issue on this forum, seeing as the version distributed with Irfanview has passed several antivirus and anti malware programs.
    News|RIOT – Radical Image Optimization Tool - Posted on March 2, 2011

    The installer now includes OpenCandy recommendations

    How can you avoid seeing software recommendations?

    Use /NOCANDY parameter when starting the installation program.
    You can also use the portable package, thus avoiding installation program with OpenCandy.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •