Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 91

Thread: IrfanPaint Plugin for IrfanView

  1. #1
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,732
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default IrfanPaint Plugin for IrfanView

    The Old Thread was getting too long to find anything, so has been closed.

    Please post any questions about the IrfanPaint Plugin in this thread. Off-topic comments may be removed.

    See my signature for a link to the offical IrfanPaint plugin site.
    Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala; 04.04.2009 at 07:42 AM.

  2. #2
    Professional User Mij's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Camberley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    2,742
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    32-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    3

    Default Feature request - use Color replacer with other tools

    I do not know if this is possible. It would be great if it was.
    The Color replacer is an excellent tool for what it does. I used it to change an almost white winter sky to a summer blue. I have found this sort of thing quite tricky in more advanced applications using masks when I have objects such as trees in the foreground and similar colors in both image and sky, but it was fairly easy in IrfanPaint because I could match color and tolerance settings locally to suit each area as I painted over it. I could only replace with a single shade of blue for the sky though, when what I would have liked was a real sky cloned from another image.
    I got to thinking, if the tool can select which pixels within the brush area to replace with a different color, perhaps it could replace them instead with pixels from a source such as the Clone tool brush or the Erase to Original brush?
    I can see possibilities, apart from my wish to clone a real sky onto an image. You could create a straight edge for an area of cloning by first drawing a broad colored line where it is to end, then painting over it using a Replace Color with Clone tool. You could create frame effects by drawing shapes, an oval over a different colored rectangle perhaps, then painting over the oval using Replace Color with Erase to original. What do you think?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Abbey.JPG 
Views:	1065 
Size:	246.5 KB 
ID:	1387   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Abbey blue.jpg 
Views:	944 
Size:	242.6 KB 
ID:	1388  

  3. #3
    Plugin Author MItaly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Milan, Italy
    Posts
    515
    Version
    IrfanView 4.27
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default

    It may be interesting, but I think that it should be generalized. An interesting idea could be to make all the tools maskable in this way... I'l think about it.
    IrfanPaint developer
    The latest stable IrfanPaint version is the 0.4.13.70.
    IrfanPaint is now open-source (released under BSD license).

  4. #4
    Moderator Sam_Zen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    1,896
    Version
    IrfanView 4.27
    OS
    Win XP Home SP1
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Support ++
    0.6180339887
    Rest In Peace, Sam!

  5. #5
    Moderator Frank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    1,527
    Version
    IrfanView 4.38
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Hello MItaly,

    What do you think about an advanced function for the color picker tool in IrfanPaint?
    What I suggest is the same as the small (but fine) program Farbhexe 2.0c!

    The "Farbhexe" shows the RGB color values in decimal, Hex and as color name (the English color name, how it is recognized by the Netscape browser)! The program needs no installation! Unpack the zip file, click and finish. Starting from Win95 and it's Freeware!

    Something similar exists also in PhotoFiltre!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Plugin Author MItaly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Milan, Italy
    Posts
    515
    Version
    IrfanView 4.27
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default

    I don't know if I can find all that space in the toolbar... I'll try.
    Anyhow in this period I must first study for the high-school exam, so it may take some time before I start to work again on IrfanPaint.
    IrfanPaint developer
    The latest stable IrfanPaint version is the 0.4.13.70.
    IrfanPaint is now open-source (released under BSD license).

  7. #7
    Professional User Mij's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Camberley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    2,742
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    32-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    3

    Default

    A standard IrfanView feature displays the cursor X,Y position and the pixel color when the left mouse button is pressed. Sadly that is not available in IrfanPaint when tools like the color picker are in use. I know why you cannot use the left mouse button, but could it perhaps be shown when a key is pressed, space bar perhaps?
    It may not be all that Frank wants but it would be a start.

  8. #8
    Professional User Skippybox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Detroit, MI USA
    Posts
    2,030
    Version
    IrfanView 4.25
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Home SP2
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    I like Frank's suggestion of a more advanced color picker. One thing that does annoy me about IrfanView is that you have to click to get color/coordinate information. It would be nice if you could just hover the cursor and see an update. Much faster and more precise, since you wouldn't accidentally make selection boxes.

    BTW, did you know that when using IrfanPaint, the color-picker will show a small preview of the color next to the foreground/background colors? Since this is auto-updating, it should be possible to indicate the color info, too.
    Last edited by Skippybox; 11.06.2009 at 11:07 PM.

  9. #9
    Moderator Sam_Zen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    1,896
    Version
    IrfanView 4.27
    OS
    Win XP Home SP1
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    One thing that does annoy me about IrfanView is that you have to click to get color/coordinate information. It would be nice if you could just hover the cursor and see an update. Much faster and more precise, since you wouldn't accidentally make selection boxes.
    Right on !
    And I have my doubts about displaying this information at the title-bar in the first place.
    It should indeed be updated with the hovering, but then placed in the status-bar.
    0.6180339887
    Rest In Peace, Sam!

  10. #10
    Moderator Frank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    1,527
    Version
    IrfanView 4.38
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MItaly View Post
    I don't know if I can find all that space in the toolbar... I'll try.
    Anyhow in this period I must first study for the high-school exam, so it may take some time before I start to work again on IrfanPaint.
    This is no problem! We can wait!
    But don't forget this suggestion - write it into your "to do" list!



    PS: In the attached screenhot you can see the method of PhotoFiltre!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PhotoFiltre.png 
Views:	1145 
Size:	271.9 KB 
ID:	1504  

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •