Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 96

Thread: Ghostscript plug-in

  1. #11
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5
    OS
    Win Vista Home Basic

    Default

    Here's a little trick to make irfanview and all other image viewers use any GhostScript version!
    First of all you need to have GPL GhostScript installed.
    Open notepad and paste this text:
    "
    Windows Registry Editor Version 4.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\AFPL Ghostscript]

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\AFPL Ghostscript\8.57]
    "GS_DLL"="c:\\program files\\gs\\gs8.57\\bin\\gsdll32.dll"
    "GS_LIB"="c:\\program files\\gs\\gs8.57\\lib;c:\\program files\\gs\\fonts;c:\\program files\\gs\\gs8.57\\Resource"

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\AFPL Ghostscript\8.57\bin]

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\AFPL Ghostscript\8.57\bin\gsdll32]
    @="c:\\program files\\gs\\gs8.57\\bin\\gsdll32.dll"

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\AFPL Ghostscript\8.57\bin\gswin32]
    @="c:\\program files\\gs\\gs8.57\\bin\\gswin32c.exe"

    "
    Save this file as GPLtoAFPL.reg
    Modify the reg keys to where you've installed ghostscript and import it in the registry.
    This little trick fools irfanview that the gpl'ed ghostscript is the AFPL'ed one.
    And I do bellive that this is a bug that shuld be fixed, Irfanview shuld check not only for HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\AFPL Ghostscript\ but allso for:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\GPL Ghostscript\

  2. #12
    Moderator Laurent's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium
    Posts
    882
    Version
    IrfanView 4.25
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Pro SP3
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Hi Q_A,

    Thanks for your trick. I didn't use it, because I make updates of Ghostcript when available and I am likely to forget to modify the appropriate entries in the registry.

    For people who will use it, it may be useful to point out that the pathes you gave are valid only for version 8.57 and if the default installation path has been accepted. Otherwise they must be modified accordingly.

    I had a look in my registry and there is only (exported .ini file):
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\AFPL Ghostscript]
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\AFPL Ghostscript\8.54]
    "GS_DLL"="c:\\program files\\gstools\\gs8.54\\bin\\gsdll32.dll"
    "GS_LIB"="c:\\program files\\gstools\\gs8.54\\lib;c:\\program files\\gstools\\fonts;c:\\program files\\gstools\\gs8.54\\Resource"
    and
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\GPL Ghostscript]
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\GPL Ghostscript\8.60]
    "GS_DLL"="c:\\program files\\gstools\\gs8.60\\bin\\gsdll32.dll"
    "GS_LIB"="c:\\program files\\gstools\\gs8.60\\lib;c:\\program files\\gstools\\fonts;c:\\program files\\gstools\\gs8.60\\Resource"
    The other entries you mentionned, including those beginning with @, are not present. Does this matter? Is this related to the Windows version (I use WinXP Pro)?

    I agree with you that IrfanView should also look for GPL and not only for AFPL.


    Laurent

  3. #13
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5
    OS
    Win Vista Home Basic

    Default

    Actually only the path to gsdll32.dll is needed. I got the keys from an older version of AFPL ghostscript and tweaked it to point to the newest gpl version I have. The @ values are needed by some other third party tools that use AFPL gs.
    And I too often update ghostscript that's why I keep a reg file that I modify to the current version of ghost script that I have. all you need to do is change the version number and the path.
    And to remove the old tweak add a minus sign to all of the lines of your reg file

  4. #14
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5
    OS
    Win Vista Home Basic

    Default

    I forgot, I've used this tweak on a win98se and an XP machine with ut a problem, as the values are stored in HKLM part of the registry it may be a problem for users with out admin priveliges on NT machines?

  5. #15
    IV Newbie ingber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2
    Version
    IrfanView 4.10
    OS
    Win XP Pro SP2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by damselhunter View Post
    Hi,

    I have the latest AFPL version of Ghostscript, as well as all Iview plugins of course. I keep getting this error when attempting to open a pdf:

    Decode error! Can't load Ghostscript (AFPL version) or Ghostscript error.

    I'm running Vista Ultimate (32 bit) Any ideas?
    I have the same problem, but under XP Pro SP2. That is, I just took out my AFPL gs851 and installed a fresh gs854w32.exe, but still have the same problem you describe in trying to load a pdf file.

  6. #16

    Thumbs up

    I had the same problem... and I found out that the solution, at least for me, lies in one simple thing: I didn't install the Ghostscript into the default directory suggested by the GS installer. When I done that (program files\gs), I started to see .EPS and .PS files in Irfan.

  7. #17
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Laurent View Post
    Hi jenik,

    Let's do some tests...

    1. Check the version number of these files:
    c:\Program Files\IrfanView\i_view32.exe: is it 4.0.0.0?
    c:\Program Files\IrfanView\Plugins\Postscript.dll: is it 3.9.8.0?
    If one version number is different, the main program and the plug-ins don't match. Uninstall and make a clean reinstall from freshly downloaded setup files (program and plug-ins).

    2. Go to the directory where you installed GhostScript. It has a name like "gs#.##". What is it exactly? If it is > 8.54 you certainly don't have AFPL GhostScript. Search in this forum for "AFPL GPL" and you'll have an explanation.

    3. Using Notepad for example, create a new text file with this line (without quotes)
    "newpath 200 600 50 0 360 arc stroke showpage"
    and save it as test.ps in the subdirectory \bin of the one where you installed GhostScript (you must find gswin32c.exe there). Open a console and go to that subdirectory (cd) and type (without quotes)
    "gswin32c test.ps" + hit Enter
    Do you see a new window with part of a circle drawn?
    If not, maybe there is a problem with the installation of GhostScript.

    Hope this can help you.

    Laurent
    Hi Laurent,
    I did all that stuff you said. Unfortunately my Postscript.dll: is 3.9.8.0 & my irfan proggie is: 4.1.0.0. I did download the latest program & plugins & have verified I have AFPL GhostScript & I did the test.ps thing & I saw the circle. Do you have a more up to date Postscript.dll you could e-mail me?

    Hell, I even downloaded another viewer, xnview I think, & that didn't work.

    Any idea where I go from here?

  8. #18
    Moderator Laurent's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium
    Posts
    882
    Version
    IrfanView 4.25
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Pro SP3
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Hi neko,

    Well, you have the right version of IrfanView and Postscript.dll (the same as here). Just to answer your query, there is a link to IrfanView Directory Browsing at the bottom of the home page of the forum.

    Ghostscript is working since you can see the circle. As you verified you have the AFPL version (you didn't mention the version number), I guess IrfanView will not show even the circle. Then I have to admit that I have no more idea to help

    Last hope: uninstall IV and GS and reinstall (I saw bembelembe's post in this thread where he explains that installing GS in Program Files instead the default directory solved the problem).

    Laurent

  9. #19
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Laurent View Post
    ...Ghostscript is working since you can see the circle. As you verified you have the AFPL version (you didn't mention the version number), I guess IrfanView will not show even the circle. Then I have to admit that I have no more idea to help

    Laurent
    Hi Laurent,
    Well, I did miss something to tell you. The test.ps file *does* show up in Irfan view (I see the circle), however the original *.eps file I am trying to open does not.

    The *.eps file was created using some kind of desktop pubishing system, like Quark, I assume. Could it just be incompatible with Irfan view?

  10. #20
    Moderator Laurent's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium
    Posts
    882
    Version
    IrfanView 4.25
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Pro SP3
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Hi neko,

    That's a good news.
    Then maybe it's a problem with the EPS file. Check if Ghostscript gives an error (like point 3 above):
    - copy your EPS file in the subdirectory \bin where you installed Ghostscript (you must find gswin32c.exe there),
    - open a console and go to that subdirectory (cd) and type (without quotes)
    "gswin32c file.eps" + hit Enter,
    - look if your file is displayed and look in the command window if GS displays an error message.

    If there is an error, it is posible that there is really an error in your EPS or that it uses a command that isn't recognized by GS. If the EPS is not too big, you could post it so that I look if I am able to find the error.

    Laurent

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •