Rename dialog oddness in Vista

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rename dialog oddness in Vista

I've been using IV in Vista for nearly a month now with no problems. Last night I was going through a lot of scanned images (IV works great with my new scanner too) and wanted to rename a few. What a surprise, this is the first time I've used that feature since the change of computers.

As you can see, the window contents are badly truncated. I know which button to click and it is clickable, but it would be heck if I was a newb.

I imagine it is the combination of resolution and font settings that I'm using in my main working profile. I will try to remember to have all my other personalities test it. The rest of me are administrators and "we" all have slightly different settings.
    Its: Belongs to "It"
    It's: Shortened form of "It is"
    ---------------------
    Lose: Fail to keep
    Loose: Not tight

---------------------
    Plurals do not require apostrophes

Aha. It was the DPI, a global setting. Normal (96) is OK. Higher is a problem. This is still not good, us visually challenged folks need all the help we can get. But I can get by with only basic font size changes. I think there are a lot of programs that stumble over this. User Interfaces tend to be inflexible, like web pages that use absolute size and position attributes. Make needed changes to accomodate old eyes, and biff! the font is readable but there's nothing to read. Programmers all have perfect eyesight
    Its: Belongs to "It"
    It's: Shortened form of "It is"
    ---------------------
    Lose: Fail to keep
    Loose: Not tight

---------------------
    Plurals do not require apostrophes

Comment

I know how you feel.

Interface Font Sizes