X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fixed V4.25: Zooming can be really slow on Windows 7 x64

Hi,

when I zoom into a jpg Image and the Image "internally" gets clipped because the full Image would be larger then screen resolution zooming gets really really slow. Zooming while the Image can be displayed in full on the screen is acceptably fast.

Example: If I selected a 100x100px rectangle from a 1439x1079px Image on my 1920x1200 desktop and zoom into it, it takes a full 27seconds on my quad-core machine to zoom in. While it's processing Irfanview uses one of the cores nearly at 100%. I didn't had this problem with Windows Vista/XP (x32), so I guess it's a Windows 7 only issue (maybe even only x64).

As a developer myself I'd be happy to try out debug-versions etc. if you can't find the problem directly.

Greetings

CPU: Q6600 Quad-Core
    RAM: 4GB ~3GB free
    Desktop: Dualscreen, each 1920x1200 (but the problem also happens when dual-screen is deactivated)
    Bug Happens regardless of if Aero Glass or Basic is enabled.
    Last edited by trh; 10.10.2009, 06:22 AM.

DO you have Use resample for zooming checked or unchecked in View >Display options ?

Comment

Yes, it is enabled - if it is disabled it is alot faster. I'm not sure if it was enabled or disabled on XP - i'll check tomorrow.

Comment

I checked it on XP - it is enabled there too, but zooming is alot faster than under Windows 7 (delay less than 1 second when zooming gets larger than the screen itself), while under Windows 7 the same zoom takes up to 30 seconds.

Comment

Well, I'm glad I've got XP!

Comment

trh
            You say that you did not notice this in Vista. Could you confirm that.

Resampling in Irfanview is actually very slow in Vista. A resample of one of my 10MP images at 300% zoom typically takes around 26 seconds on my machine.
            Other programs seem to achieve the same result in a fraction of a second.