Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Creating Screen Saver .scr

  1. #1
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default Creating Screen Saver .scr

    I've used Irfanview's slideshow screensaver creation for using scenery photos that we have taken. However, I now have purchased a new computer with operating system Windows 7. I keep getting an error when I try to create my screen saver. The error is Error copying file!: C:\Windows\System32\My Slide Show.scr
    How do I correct this, or can I?
    Last edited by Orv; 13.11.2009 at 03:07 PM. Reason: Misspelling

  2. #2
    Professional User Mij's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Camberley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    2,763
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    32-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    3

    Default

    Create the screensaver file in your own user directory, on the desktop for example. Then close Irfanview and drag and drop the file into the C:\windows\system32 folder. You will need an administrator password and will have to confirm the action.

  3. #3
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mij View Post
    Create the screensaver file in your own user directory, on the desktop for example. Then close Irfanview and drag and drop the file into the C:\windows\system32 folder. You will need an administrator password and will have to confirm the action.
    Thank you for your reply. I did this and was allowed to create the file. However, when I try to preview the screen saver, all I get is a black monitor (black screen, not blank). This same file worked great on my old XP computer, compiled the same way. Could there be something in Windows 7 that's giving me the problem?

  4. #4
    Moderator Frank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    1,527
    Version
    IrfanView 4.38
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Orv View Post
    ... Could there be something in Windows 7 that's giving me the problem?
    Why not ask such question in Windows 7 Forums?

  5. #5
    Professional User Mij's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Camberley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    2,763
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    32-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    3

    Default

    I do not have Win7. What I described works in Vista. It allows you to put your screensaver into the protected Windows\system32 folder and once there it works normally. Maybe there is yet another security measure in Win7 to prevent a screensaver from working even after you have saved it in the right place.

    Frank is right. You are more likely to find the answer on a Win7 forum.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •