Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Large Colour Tifs Only Display as Black Image

  1. #11
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3
    Version
    IrfanView 4.28
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Pro SP3
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Hi. I have recently suffered a similar problem. IV has stopped displaying tif files saved with Corel Paint Shop Pro X2 Ultimate. IV seems to open the file, and displays the file name in the title bar, and will display file info with the "I" button, but the displ;ay is totally black. I have saved the file with LHZ and wiht no compression - still noo go. File size makes no difference - still no display. I can see older TIF files and files saved in the TIF format by MS Paint. Xplorer2 and FastStone display the files ok.
    Any ideas?
    How can I attach a file to this message for someone to look at?

  2. #12
    Moderator Frank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    1,527
    Version
    IrfanView 4.38
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Please upload some sample TIF files as compressed zip archive!
    (See also the german bugreport: "V4.28: Einige TIF-Dateien lassen sich mit IrfanView nicht mehr anzeigen!")

    description for uploading:
    Quote Originally Posted by Sjef View Post
    • Use the attachement-button in the Forum to send us your file (see the attachment).
    • In the attachement-dialog click on Choose and search your file on your harddisc.
    • Then click Upload.

  3. #13
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3
    Version
    IrfanView 4.28
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Pro SP3
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Here are some pictures I made using PSP and IV from a .nef file (RAW image from a Nikon camera). IV now responds to the PSP .tif files with "...unknown file header" and displays ony black. I noticed that the files from PSP are much larger than the ones using IV. IV reads /nef files easily.
    Thanks for your time and e3xpertise.
    David
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #14
    Moderator Frank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    1,527
    Version
    IrfanView 4.38
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    It seems that Corel Paint Shop Pro is the reason of such mistakes!
    Because IrfanView is not the only program which can't open the picture "frog small PSP.tif"!
    Also XnView can't do that! (But Faststone Image Viewer can open this picture!)

    Maybe PSP use a non standard TIF-Format!

  5. #15
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    6,105
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Also unable to open the file in Corel PhotoPaint 9 or Serif PhotoPlus X4.

  6. #16
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3
    Version
    IrfanView 4.28
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Pro SP3
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Thanks for teh info. The problem seems to be related to the Nikon program ViewNX 2. On e I convert RAW files to TIFFs I get the same problem. I will do some more exploring and get back to you.

  7. #17
    Plugin Author
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    341
    OS
    Win 7 Professional SP1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dacar View Post
    Here are some pictures I made using PSP and IV from a .nef file (RAW image from a Nikon camera). IV now responds to the PSP .tif files with "...unknown file header" and displays ony black. I noticed that the files from PSP are much larger than the ones using IV. IV reads /nef files easily.
    Thanks for your time and e3xpertise.
    David
    The file does not start with a tif magic value. It looks more like a raw file.

  8. #18
    Moderator Frank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    1,527
    Version
    IrfanView 4.38
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    @Dacar

    My suggestion:
    • Contact the customer support of your Corel Paint Shop Pro X2 Ultimate!
      (Because you have paid a lot of money!)
    • Tell them the problem!
    • See what they say!
    • And please tell us their feedback and/or answers!


    regards
    Frank

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •