Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Disable option to Set as Wallpaper

  1. #1

    Default Disable option to Set as Wallpaper

    Hi,

    Is there anyway this can be disabled from within Irfan?

    Cheers,
    Bob

  2. #2
    Moderator Laurent's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium
    Posts
    882
    Version
    IrfanView 4.25
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Pro SP3
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Hi bobbai,

    As far as I know, it isn't possible to disable features of IrfanView.

    Laurent

  3. #3
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,876
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    I am moving this to the Feature Requests forum.

    Control Shift C, T, S to set the current image as wallpaper is a bad idea.

    Alt Shift C, T, S currently toggles the Caption (Windows Title), Toolbar, and Status Line. It is all too easy to confuse the two and change the wallpaper.

    Just how often does anyone need to change the desktop wallpaper? Once a day at most. I change mine about once a year. This is easy to do from the menus. Shortcuts should be reserved for frequently used commands.

  4. #4
    IV Newbie PhiLho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Paris, France
    Posts
    7
    Version
    IrfanView 4.00
    OS
    Win XP Pro SP2

    Default

    Sure, while some shortcuts are missing, like Convert to Greyscale or Increase/Decrease Color Depth.
    Both these problems can probably be addressed, as a workaround, by using ResHacker on IV...

  5. #5
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,876
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Resource Hacker won't work on compressed executables.

  6. #6
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Capitola, California
    Posts
    9
    Version
    IrfanView 4.23
    OS
    Win XP Home SP3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bhikkhu Pesala View Post
    I am moving this to the Feature Requests forum.

    Control Shift C, T, S to set the current image as wallpaper is a bad idea.

    Alt Shift C, T, S currently toggles the Caption (Windows Title), Toolbar, and Status Line. It is all too easy to confuse the two and change the wallpaper.

    Just how often does anyone need to change the desktop wallpaper? Once a day at most. I change mine about once a year. This is easy to do from the menus. Shortcuts should be reserved for frequently used commands.
    I agree with you 110%! I found this out about an hour ago, when I tried to check out alt|shift\c from another post. I inadvertently clicked ctrl|shift|c and wound up with the image I was viewing as wallpaper. Since I never use wallpaper, it took some head-scratching to realize what happened. You're right, it is very easy to click the wrong key, even if you normally use hotkey commands.
    Laren
    [aka sandman]
    http://ldart.got.net

  7. #7
    Advanced User matera's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    3 miles below poverty level
    Posts
    1,383
    Version
    IrfanView 4.44
    OS
    64-bit Linux Distribution
    CPU Cores
    4

    Default

    Ack, yes. So far I have never given myself accidental wallpaper, but now I tremble in fear because I have been minimalizing the window more lately. The last thing I need is a wallpaper hotkey! Grayscale..now there's a dream...
    Its: Belongs to "It"
    It's: Shortened form of "It is"
    ---------------------
    Lose: Fail to keep
    Loose: Not tight

    ---------------------
    Plurals do not require apostrophes

  8. #8
    Moderator Sam_Zen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    1,896
    Version
    IrfanView 4.27
    OS
    Win XP Home SP1
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Why needing a wallpaper in the first place. It's one of those silly constructions M$ has created according to their office analogy of a PC environment.
    0.6180339887
    Rest In Peace, Sam!

  9. #9
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default Agreed

    Just had this same problem myself.

    The option itself seems nice, but not as a shortcut.

  10. #10
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,876
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Added request for Customisable Shortcuts to Project List

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •