Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Baffled! Can't read file header only in command line mode

  1. #1
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7
    Version
    IrfanView 4.30
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Home Premium SP1
    CPU Cores
    3

    Question Baffled! Can't read file header only in command line mode

    Newbie here ... Hi, everybody! I've been using IrfanView for years and never had a problem. I just moved from XP to a new Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit. I copied my folders containing the images and text command line files straight from the XP to the new PC into the same named locations. Everything worked fine on the XP. IrfanView will open all of the images in the text file when I open them manually but when I try any or all of them in command line mode, I get the "Can't read header file" and I can't figure out why. I tried running the program in XP compatibility mode and that didn't help. Version is 4.30. Just installed complete PlugIns package. Desktop Icon starting the procedure is named "Family Album", target="C:\Program Files (x86)\IrfanView\i_view32.exe" /fs /slideshow="C:\Multimedia\Pictures\Albums\Family.tx t". Example of file name in .txt file = C:\Multimedia\Pictures\People\My Family\Mom and Sheba.JPG. All target locations are valid. I don't know what I'm missing. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Moderator Frank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    1,527
    Version
    IrfanView 4.38
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Professional SP1
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Hi Bobbob,

    You have written:
    "C:\Multimedia\Pictures\Albums\Family.tx t"
    Is that only a spelling mistake?
    Or is there really a space bar within the file extension TXT?


    regards
    Frank

  3. #3
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7
    Version
    IrfanView 4.30
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Home Premium SP1
    CPU Cores
    3

    Smile No ... there's no space

    Quote Originally Posted by Frank View Post
    Hi Bobbob,

    You have written:

    Is that only a spelling mistake?
    Or is there really a space bar within the file extension TXT?


    regards
    Frank
    I was surprised to see that when I reviewed the forum so I verified that my shortcut target and even the message I typed in do NOT contain the space. I don't know where the space came from - somewhere in the parsing of the message, I guess. Besides, getting the program started isn't the problem. But, thanks for the reply!

  4. #4
    Professional User Mij's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Camberley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    2,764
    Version
    IrfanView 4.51
    OS
    32-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    3

    Default

    Does the slideshow window open before you get the "Can't read header file" message. If so it may be what is in your text file that is the problem. You say that the files have been moved to the same place in Win7 as they were in XP? Are you sure of that? Do the text file entries contain full path details or are you trying to use relative addressing of some kind?
    Last edited by Mij; 29.06.2011 at 07:12 PM.

  5. #5
    IV Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7
    Version
    IrfanView 4.30
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Home Premium SP1
    CPU Cores
    3

    Default

    OH MY! Am I embarrassed! I must have made a minor change to one of the folder names in the target location on the XP and then never ran Family Album to realize I broke it. (My XP died so I couldn't try it now. I'm copying my files off it's drive with the new PC.) That's what I get for working into the wee hours with little sleep trying to get this new PC in order. Anyway, thank you all so much for your help!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •