Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Crash when saving a jpg

  1. #1
    IV Amateur
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    11
    Version
    IrfanView 4.38
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Ultimate/Enterprise SP1
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default Crash when saving a jpg

    I found a bug like this and I checked it - it repeats itself.
    I processed a picture with Irfanview and when I tried to save it in a folder which was beyond 4 or 5 other folders the program crashed.
    I have Windows XP sp3 in my PC and I used the 4.30 version of Irfanview. I avoided the crash by saving in the first folder I found and moving the file afterwards.
    Theo

  2. #2
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    6,423
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    This is probably a problem with Unicode folder names, rather than just folder depth.
    What is the full path name?

    Thread prefix changed from "Pending" to "Reported."

    The "Pending" prefix should be used only if you have received a reply from Irfan, and he is working on a fix. Reporting Bugs
    Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala; 08.10.2011 at 09:35 PM.

  3. #3
    IV Amateur
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    11
    Version
    IrfanView 4.38
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Ultimate/Enterprise SP1
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    I don't use Unicode characters in the names of the folders.
    The full path is:
    ...\My Documents\My MMusic\ForTrkStr2\Composers St-Wa\Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Ilyich 1840-1893\Ballet Music\The Nutcracker Ballet Op. 71, complete
    Theo

  4. #4
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    6,423
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    I was unable to reproduce any crash. I opened an image, and using the Move File dialogue (F7) i moved it to
    Code:
    C:\Documents and Settings\Bhikkhu Pesala\My Documents\My Music\ForTrkStr2\Composers St-Wa\Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Ilyich 1840-1893\Ballet Music\The Nutcracker Ballet Op. 71
    The path "My Music" already existed, IrfanView created the rest and moved the file there.

    Other files were also moved there afterwards without problems. I am also using Windows XP Home SP3.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Long Path.png 
Views:	194 
Size:	4.5 KB 
ID:	2988  

  5. #5
    IV Amateur
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    11
    Version
    IrfanView 4.38
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Ultimate/Enterprise SP1
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    I wrote: the crash appeared when I saved the file in the given folder. When I saved it in other folder (the first one IV proposed me) I also was capable to move it (right, I did it through Windows Explorer). The bug exists, but it is possible to by-pass it if you know it...
    Last edited by Theo; 12.10.2011 at 03:54 PM.

  6. #6
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    6,423
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Thanks for the clarification.

    I was able to save a file in the next folder up "ballet" but not in the last folder.

    The move dialogue trick is an easier work around not needing the use of Windows Explorer.

    The bug is quite serious as users could lose there edited files before being able to save it, so I will forward it to Irfan.

  7. #7
    IV Amateur
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    11
    Version
    IrfanView 4.38
    OS
    64-bit Win 7 Ultimate/Enterprise SP1
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    So happened to me, but I have been lucky, it was not after much work.

    In the past I also found a bug and I wrote directly to Irfan. He was very kind and sent me privately a fixed version; the next released version was already fixed.
    Now I discovered the forum and used it.
    Thanks

  8. #8
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    6,423
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Irfan is pretty quick in responding to bugs. He's looked at this and suggested disabling the Unicode plugin in Options, Languages. That solved the issue for me, but if you need Unicode characters in folder names it might not be a solution for you.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •