Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33

Thread: About Palette files

  1. #21
    IV Beginner
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    63
    Version
    IrfanView 4.25

    Red face Sorry about bumping but...

    I need help, I can't seem to use my palette in Microsoft GIF Animator! Could someone give me some help?
    Code:
    JASC-PAL
    0100
    256
    0 200 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    0 0 0
    I'm going for monochrome. Someone tell me what I'm doing wrong!

  2. #22
    Moderator Laurent's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium
    Posts
    882
    Version
    IrfanView 4.25
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Pro SP3
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Hi bohdan,

    Your palette contains 257 values. Besides that, all values correspond to black, except the first one. I tried to use it with an image and, indeed, almost every pixels are black, except some that are green.
    Can you describe more precisely what you expect?
    What help about IrfanView do you need?

    Laurent
    Last edited by Laurent; 25.05.2008 at 06:11 PM. Reason: Spelling

  3. #23
    IV Beginner
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    63
    Version
    IrfanView 4.25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Laurent View Post
    Hi bohdan,

    Your palette contains 257 values. Besides that, all values correspond to black, except the first one. I tried to use it with an image and, indeed, almost every pixels are black, except some that are green.
    Can you describe more precisely what you expect?
    What help about IrfanView do you need?

    Laurent
    So I would need to remove a value and swap green with black?

    I am using Microsoft GIF animator. However, this was the only relevant result on google.
    Last edited by Laurent; 25.05.2008 at 06:10 PM.

  4. #24
    Moderator Laurent's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium
    Posts
    882
    Version
    IrfanView 4.25
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Pro SP3
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bohdan View Post
    So I would need to remove a value and swap green with black?
    I would remove a line of zeroes.

    I am using Microsoft GIF animator. However, this was the only relevant result on google.
    Search better: with ["Microsoft GIF animator" palette] Google gave 1910 results. Or search on Microsoft website. I know nothing of Microsoft GIF animator. We support only IrfanView. Thanks for your comprehension.

    Laurent

  5. #25
    IV Beginner
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    63
    Version
    IrfanView 4.25

    Default

    Well I found nothing relevant. Oh well, one of my friends can help I guess.

  6. #26
    Moderator Laurent's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium
    Posts
    882
    Version
    IrfanView 4.25
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Pro SP3
    CPU Cores
    2

    Default

    Hi Sam,

    Here are visualizations of your palettes (I downloaded the files some time ago: November 2007). Nice patchworks
    The palette pals1\green.pal is puzzling me. And pals1\hq_32.pal has four browns among the blues.

    Laurent
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pals0.png 
Views:	326 
Size:	606.4 KB 
ID:	800   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pals1.png 
Views:	260 
Size:	291.9 KB 
ID:	801   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pals2.png 
Views:	266 
Size:	191.9 KB 
ID:	802   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pals3.png 
Views:	241 
Size:	22.4 KB 
ID:	803  
    Before you post ... fill in your OS and IV version in your profile.

  7. #27
    Moderator Sam_Zen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    1,896
    Version
    IrfanView 4.27
    OS
    Win XP Home SP1
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    I have to admit that I didn't check every single pal in those packages. green.pal is puzzling indeed. It should be red.pal, or re-coloured.
    And those four browns are not supposed to be there. Thanks. I will correct both files.
    Nice visualizations by the way.
    0.6180339887
    Rest In Peace, Sam!

  8. #28
    IV Newbie Birkinstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    4
    Version
    IrfanView 4.30
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Home SP3
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Hello,

    I've tried importing palettes and I get the same problem as reported by Laurent early in this thread. That problem seemed to be solved by setting the option in what used to be: Options | Properties/Settings | Misc. 3 -> "Import palette: use nearest color".

    But in v4.25 the options menu is much simpler, and I can't find it. Does anyone know how to solve this?

  9. #29
    Moderator Enterprise User Bhikkhu Pesala's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    6,002
    OS
    64-bit Win 10
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Its in the Editing section of Browsing/Editing

  10. #30
    IV Newbie Birkinstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    4
    Version
    IrfanView 4.30
    OS
    32-bit Win XP Home SP3
    CPU Cores
    1

    Default

    Thanks very much - I couldn't find it! Working OK now.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •