unsharp pics aft resizing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

unsharp pics aft resizing

Hello everyone..........I have been using irfanview for the past several years and never had a problem till recently.....
    I have been using the batch conversion under file......and now after resizing many of the pics appear to be unsharp......some appear to be over sharpen...I have tried several different setting in the advance mode and the results are always the same.....I had check them in PS and they are sharp....

I think this may have started when I got a new camera Nikon D80 but not sure.......he a copy of what I am takling about

one other question....Do my jpeg files degrade everything I tried to resize ???

Thanks in advance for all the help and info .....Jim

Forbidden

You don't have permission to access /o6/20/213220/1/100158434.kQ1EwMY2.resizedDSC_1235.JPG on this server.
    Apache/2.0.58 (Unix) Server at i.pbase.com Port 80
    Get Radio? Sure! - the best Internet Radio Player ever?

Comment

403 Forbidden
      It's a stupid HTTP_REFERER protection.

Originally posted by jamcrky View Post
      Do my jpeg files degrade everything I tried to resize ???
      Yes, JPEG is a lossy compression and files should be saved only once to this format. If you repeatedly edit a JPEG file, its quality will degrade.

From the screenshot I can see that you're doing Resize instead of Resample. Resize is a primitive algorythm, similar to whats being used if you zoom in and out. Go to the Image -> Resize/Resample dialog and do one operation with the correct parameters: Lanczos filter. After that this choice should be preserved also in the Batch dialog.
      Last edited by j7n; 17.07.2008, 08:57 PM.

Comment

resizing

Thanks again will try it tonight....I'm glad I keep the pics on my memory card so I can upload em again as they probably are degraded after many attmept s trying to resize......