Converting gifs to jpgs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Converting gifs to jpgs

Hi, sorry if this has been asked before. I am a bit of an amateur where graphics are concerned so can any replies be in computer illiterate, simple step by step English please?

When converting inanimate gif files to jpg using batch conversion, the background colour changes, e.g. pink, white to black. Is there any way to stop this? Thanks

Hi Maddy12,

In the JPEG options, did you check this box?

Laurent
    Attached Files
    Before you post ... fill in your OS and IV version in your profile.

Comment

<del>I can confirm that transparency is not being rendered during batch conversion.</del>

But the need to convert GIF to lossy JPEG should arise very rarely, certainly not in large batches.

Edit: Actually no. PNG Alpha is not rendered, GIF single color transparency is. Have you enabled it in the viewer? Preferences->Show transparency in non-animated GIFs too. I dunno how it's in French.
      Last edited by j7n; 25.05.2008, 11:32 AM.

Comment

@Laurent: dialogue boxes in French are not much help to most of us. Please go to Properties, Language and change it to English before taking the screenshot. I don't think save as greyscale is the problem here, anyway.

Enable the JPG/PCD/GIF option to display transparency, then the background of transparent GIF images will be shown as the background colour that you choose in Properties, Viewing.

When the batch operation runs that background colour will be used for the JPG.

If the show transparency option is disabled, then the transparent colour of the GIF will be what you see in the viewer if you open it in the viewer, and that colour will used for the background of the JPG. The transparent background can be any colour in the 256 colour palette — black, white, pink, or whatever.