Changes not saved

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Changes not saved

I have several photos that were taken sideways. I open them in IV and press R or L until they are rightside up. I then press Ctrl+s. I am asked if I want to replace the photo. I click Yes.

When I look in the folder, I see that the file timestamp has changed, but when I open it, the photo is still sideways. I did this several times and with several photos.

This has never happened before, and I have been using IV for 20 years or more.

Can anyone offer a possible explanation or, more importantly, a cure?

Thanks
    Running IV 64 4.52 on Windows 10 with Office 365

This is a democracy (USA) so we have no one to blame but ourselves.

It turns out that the problem has something to do with me adding an oval around the area of interest in the photo. Once I drag the ellipse tool onto the photo and save it, when I reopen it, it is rotated 90 degrees. This has never happened to me before.

Does that information help? I did it with 2-3 photos with the same results. I will try to upload the before and after images. PostImage seems to have changed the way it saves files, so I hope this works.

This is before I added the annotation:

Click image for larger version

Name:	image.png
Views:	237
Size:	543.9 KB
ID:	94303

And this is after annotation:

Name:	image.png
Views:	218
Size:	1,003.8 KB
ID:	94304

The actual photo files are in this OneDrive folder: https://1drv.ms/u/s!ArBLbKVM2K_HiPUgheoYGNuSvmyWQA

Comment

In JPEG save options, select "Reset EXIF orientation tag"

Name:	save_jpeg.png
Views:	224
Size:	19.1 KB
ID:	94308
      My system: IrfanView 4.62 64bit, Windows 10 22H2, Intel Core i5-3570, 16GB RAM, NVidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB

Comment

Originally posted by JendaLinda View Post
        In JPEG save options, select "Reset EXIF orientation tag"